Revisiting Busy.org

in #busy6 years ago

I just want to make a quick post to test out busy.org. It's been a quite a while since I logged in to this site and, after taking a quick look around, I might be switching over permanently from steemit.com.

Busy Revisited.png

There were a few things that were keeping me from enjoying the site in the past that seem to be taken care of. First, I didn't like the way the post creator worked. It's been so long I can't remember what the issue was, but I think it just had some quirks that I didn't like and I preferred the basic version on steemit.com. As I'm writing this on busy.org, the post creator seems very smooth, with some better features than on steemit.

There is a word counter, which is awesome. Plus, it tells you how long it will take to read the article. So you can decide if you need to beef it up or cut it back depending on how long it is.

A few more things I'm noticing right off the bat:

  • The notifications work - including comments, re-blogs, follows, and mentions;
  • Your profile page has all kinds of useful information like voting power, vote value, and the users you re-blogged the most;
  • There's a default vote slider value so you don't always have to adjust the value for each vote;
  • The slider works for all users, no matter the SP;
  • The vote slider shows how much the vote will be worth;
  • You can save more than one post as a draft before posting;
  • When viewing a post, you get a few more recent posts from the same user on the right side. This allows you to keep reading from that user without actually going to their blog page. It's helpful if you are reading from someone you read regularly and may have missed a post;
  • There are links to other interesting users along the right side of the feed and the ability to expand the list to search for more interesting people to follow and read;
  • THE SEARCH BAR WORKs!! Not only does it work for posts, but it also works for users. So if you can't quite remember how to spell a specific user's name, you can actually use the search bar; and,
  • DTube videos not only play right from the post on busy.org, they also play right from the feed menu so you don't even have to open the post to view the video. I'm not sure why steemit.com didn't implement the embeding of DTube videos immediately but now it's on busy.org so that's a huge bonus.

All those are a major improvement from steemit.com and that's after just looking around for a few minutes. I'm sure there are a ton of extra little features hiding in there.

busy.png

One other key feature, there's a referral link. So, if you haven't checked out busy.org yet, please use the link to sign in using your steem credentials.

https://busy.org/i/@stephen.king989

I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. Also, feel free to use the graphic I created as you want.

Busy Single.png

Sort:  

busy.org is perfect, busy.org supports all the people. Thank for sharing @stephen.king989

I didn't know about the dtube videos playing right in the feed... that's amazing! You're right that Busy has gotten a lot better over the last year.

Right now I use Steemit for one account and Busy for another. It's convenient to not have to log out all the time.

I was enjoying ChainBB for a while too but it seemed like it was too awkward to try and get people to communicate through that interface, they kept using Steemit instead and it didn't really work.

You can use multiple users in Brave Browser. You can have multiple steemit accounts open at once on either website at the same time using different logins. It's really convenience.

This looks a lot better and the one thing I always found off-putting on the Steemit site was the interface. This looks much smoother and put together.

It's really got a more modern feel to it. I keep finding extra little things the more I use it that make it nicer, too.

I'm going to start using it more too. The earn.com site you told me about seems to be interesting--I got some ads sent my way already that I was paid to accept. Too bad we didn't have something like that for telemarketers.

I've made almost $25 just in a few weeks from earn.com. That's pretty good considering the normal junk mail I get pays me nothing. Plus, the emails you get are mostly to up and coming tokens so if anything stands out, it would be a good way to get in on a good earning coin early.

I posted your summary on Facebook. Although I'm not a big fan of Facebook, I linked my earn.com site there too, just because there are so many advertisers. I also downloaded the app for my phone. I don't know why people waste their time there--for nothing. I'm trying to convert @renikingns to steemit more via busy.org now that the interface is so much more user-friendly. Also need to tweak her steemvoter.com to get that working properly.

Hey I didn't know a site like this existed! I have a couple months here on steemit and it certainly lacks on some things, I always thought that the editor was a little rough on the edges and it was a bit hard to make whatever you like look symmetrical, specially when you're adding images and such. It's just such a hassle trying to learn just a bit of HTML for your posts to look nice and organized. I will definitely check busy.org later this evening, thank you for the recomendation!

You're welcome. There are a few sites like this that run off the steem blockchain. Busy.org, esteem.ws for mobile, chainbb.com as a forum style, steemitstage.com for when steemit.com is down or not working right.... and there's more out there. They all can run off the steem blockchain so you get the same feed, just the interfaces are different.

That's really really interesting, I'll give Busy.org a chance to see if I enjoy it more than the vanilla Steemit experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75