Chiang Mai – Part 18

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1094.JPG

I spent the 6 hour bus ride with a great Canadian guy called Jonathon and we spent the whole day together. I am meeting some amazing people on my travels and am truly grateful for the impact these people are having on my life. I love hearing their stories, enjoy in-depth conversations and feel humbled that they want to hear my story – these experiences are shaping me in more ways than I could ever have imagined.
Deciding how best to get around, I did consider hiring a scooter but was quite glad later that I hadn’t. The traffic is crazy and I witnessed a motorcycle with 3 Thai women on collide with a Chinese tourist, catapulting her on the road, her camera was sent flying and she lay there crying holding her ribs. Meanwhile the bike went one way and the girls the other, more bruising, grazing and crying. The whole street stopped to watch or help; some directing traffic and others genuinely trying to help. Realising that I would be of no help I got out of the way as I heard sirens and saw the girl being stretchered off – I hope she was OK.
All the heat and walking around was quite tiring and so when my ankle started to swell I wasn’t unduly concerned. To be on the safe side I sent a photo home asking for a bit of advice – poor mum and dad were so worried! After getting a tuktuk to a few clinics and finding that my condition was too serious for them I ended up at the hospital requiring antibiotics other medicines and complete rest, for an insect bite. The following few days saw me very frustrated but probably better off at having been made to relax. I had been on the go non-stop since my departure in October. Thankfully the antibiotics took effect quickly and within four days I was back on my feet and raring to go again.
IMG_1057.JPG

I headed back to the markets and found it quite bazaar that some temples were actually incorporated in to the market – seems a bit at odds with all the temple rules of: no smoking, drinking, hugging, kissing and no shoes. You are also not allowed to point your feet towards Buddha whoops – I’d done that by accident – I didn’t get caught for that but in another I got told off for crossing my legs!!! Whilst sitting taking it all in, I was treated to a rendition of the national Anthem over a loud speaker and the whole market stopped for 30 minutes to pay their respect.
One of my highlights from Thailand has to be my first ever massage. The masseurs were women from a Correction Institute – not sure it was because of their history, but the experience was like being beaten up and some linked arm method resulted in some interesting, bone breaking stretches. Despite this it was great and I would do it again. Nursing my aching body I treated myself to a Veggie Khao Soi as recommended by Jonathon the Canadian and Danny Fahey from work!!
IMG_1121.JPG

Sort:  

💡 @steemingmark received an upvote 90% :)

 To call a bot, subscribe to me! 

Congratulations @steemingmark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48