Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia - Part 48

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4471.JPG

The bus dropped me in Chinatown, I used the subway to the end of the line and then a taxi with a fantastic chatty, friendly driver who gave me loads of local tips and seemed genuinely interested in why I was there and what I was doing etc. I met my couch-surfer host Amie who worked on local TV projects and it was interesting looking at his work.
I shared breakfast with Amie – a Milo Hot Chocolate (a very sweet, Malaysian speciality but made by Nestle!!) and pasta!!!! A bit of an odd breakfast; I am becoming accustomed to these strange concoctions but they still surprise me, which is probably why I keep referring to the things I am eating and drinking. In a restaurant he ordered me a sticky rice desert with amazing syrup that tasted like bonfire treacle toffee – there I go again talking about food!
Later I met some Iranians and was able to do some sight-seeing: Petronas Twin Towers, the tallest twin towers in the world, pretty spectacular and especially so when they are lit up. The KL Tower is interesting and I learned that races are held annually, where participants race up the stairs to the top. The Symphony Lake and Fountain Show set to music was quite magical and reminded me of Las Vegas.
I attempted to get the bus back to Amie’s but missed my stop. The driver was not at all helpful and thankfully it turned out to be quite a straight forward obvious route back.
I was up early for the long journey to Batu Cave. The caves and cave temples are situated on a limestone hill. Entry is via 272 concrete steps before you are almost attacked by monkeys as they take food and whatever they can, straight out of people’s hands, scaring many. A lot of the visitors to the Hindu Temples were Indians on a pilgrimage, they go yearly to cleanse their heart and minds.
Later that evening I decided to go and have a look at ‘Little India’, I don’t know whether I was in the wrong area or at the wrong time but I was quite disappointed instead I went to watch the ‘Angry Birds’ film, due to a very interesting review I had seen on-line. The average age group of the audience was a far cry from my 25 years but it was enjoyable appreciating the political undertones.
On the way back I found a kitten on the main road; as it looked up at me with pleading eyes I felt guilty I had nothing to offer it. I went back to Amie’s to find the inner door locked and despite ringing the bell I couldn’t get an answer. I was sat on the doorstep thinking about what I might have been able to do for the kitten when it opened – he had a new computer and was in the back room engrossed in it – haha! I convinced myself that the kitten needed to learn how to survive as I helped Amie set up the computer and Wi-Fi; I even impressed myself!
The morning after I treated Amie to a roti (Indian Flatbread) breakfast, it seemed only fair as he had put me up and paid for so many meals and drinks already. He bought some computer gadgets and we wandered around the stalls for a while; he was very popular, laughing and chatting to everyone we met. At one stall a Muslim woman told us she owned 18 cats; I thought back to the kitten and worried about telling Amie what I had done or rather not done. He wasn’t that concerned, I expect it is commonplace – but still didn’t make me feel any less uncomfortable.

Amie asked if I had bought anything from the malls I explained my budget and luggage would not allow it but if I could I would get another pair of shorts as my 10 year plus old shorts were now becoming holier than a church!! When we got back Amie gave me an old pair of denim shorts he rarely wore and I threw my others, how kind of him!! I have been overwhelmed by the generosity of so many people I have met on my travels.
After saying a farewell and a massive thank you to Amie I proceeded to on to a maze of buses, trains and more buses etc to Melaka, the city of many museums and saturated in history!!!!

Sort:  

We have upvoted your post with 10% voting weight, and our bot will keep upvoting on a daily basis until your bets are recovered. We do 10% voting weight so that we cover most users in a single day!
And Congrats for the games where you made SBDs! You can track your winnings/upvotes/bets here: https://goo.gl/wjkA8K

Thank you for participating with BetGames!

To earn more SBD/Upvotes bet risk free with @betgames
If you win you get SBD, if you lose you will get back your investment via upvotes from @Betgames

Cheers and Happy betting!

@tipu profit for 19 SP

Yesterday 19.0 STEEM POWER delegated or invested gave payout of:
0.013 SBD + 0.001 STEEM (0.02 USD), APR: 21.08% .

Delegation link: steemconnect 19.0 SP delegation to @tipu.

Please note the profit depends on STEEM price. The higher the STEEM price, the more SBD profit is being generated.

Hi @steemingmark! Here is your @tipU service user data:

  • deposit for sending tips and @tipU upvotes: 0 SBD
  • delegation status: 18.0 STEEM POWER delegated
  • investment status: 0 STEEM POWER invested: 0 STEEM and 0 SBD
  • pending payout: 0.003 SBD + 0.001 STEEM, next scheduled payout in: 21 hours
  • total @tipU STEEM POWER: 452512 | Your share: 0.004% | Your reinvest ratio: 0%
  • voting status: active, profit will be increased with each vote :)
  • Profitability: 0.671 SBD + 0.055 STEEM (0.95 USD) per 1k SP delegated or invested, APR: 21.08% (data from yesterday)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74