George Town Penang Malaysia - Part45

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Whilst travelling I was able to spend time checking my passport and mentally making a list of all the countries I have ever visited – Malaysia would be the 23rd. Almost a country for every year of my life (25 years). This country would be the 6th country of this trip since I left home in October.
After lots of bus hopping I eventually arrived on the mainland at Butterworth where I caught the overnight ferry to George Town Penang. Despite it being an overnight crossing there was plenty to see as there were cities on either side of the water all lit up in different colours.
Arriving in George Town I walked through the city passing by some fantastic architecture. The whole appearance is more like a movie set. The Western style soaring skyscrapers and massive shopping malls side by side with Chinese Temples and the mosques of Little India (a very good re-creation of the real India I saw last year).
After a bit of confusion with the accommodation I had planned on using, I ended up at a party hotel. The hotel itself was nice but I didn’t feel comfortable, the vibe wasn’t right somehow; the English owners were lovely but just so different to me. I slept well after the long journey, enjoyed a free breakfast but then made my excuses. The rest of the day I explored the maze of narrow lanes and chaotic streets with lanterns, spices, modern bars and the many murals painted all over the city.
Situated on the outskirts of Chinatown, along Pengkalan Weld near the harbour (Swettenham Pier) is found the Clan Jetties and their Floating Village. A fascinating village completely built on stilts and occupied by Chinese clans, immigrants who originally moved here in the 19th century.
Here in Malaysia they have something known as Hawker Centres; large coffee shops with stalls selling different foods; rather like what we call a food hall. I made the mistake of just ordering food at first but there is an understanding that you order a drink hence I enjoyed a local fruit drink. I continued to find more murals before the rain got the better of me and with all the walking my foot was beginning to feel quite painful, so after a bit of a search I escaped to a cinema to watch the new ‘X Men’ film.
The following day I heard about some celebration on the island for Buddha, his birthday I think; what was surprising was that I kept forgetting I was actually on an island! The area I went to was full of flowers and markets and people paying their respects and offerings of money. I had unfortunately missed the procession but sat soaking up the atmosphere. I had seen a sign earlier selling chicken pie and was busy working up an appetite when I realised the time, they had closed; I was so disappointed!
Hurrying out that evening trying to do more of the Buddha celebrations and also catch some of an Anime Festival I rushed out to get a local Indian curry and that was when I fell in love with Teh Tarik, a very popular milk tea in Malaysia made with black tea and condensed milk.
I met up with quite a few people during the course of the evening and together enjoyed the procession of floats with lights, music and dancing and then later got a free pass to see the Anime concert from the back of the stage.
Meeting so many people trying to order or pronounce my name can be a constant amusement. One Indian guy kept calling me Geo-frey (my middle name is Geoffrey) and customs officers calling me Robinson in Bangkok for a week was very comical.
Now on to my next destination - the Cameron Highlands, which was going to turn out to be an unexpected surprise.

Sort:  

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

thanks a lot =]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81