Great Blue Heron catching fish in sunset silhouette

in #busy6 years ago

With the sun set, there's only the silhoutte :) In this video you'll see a Great Blue Heron preening her beautiful plummage, then all of a sudden she spots a little fish and goes in for the kill :) She tightens up her feathers and creeps towards the edge of the rock. As she closes in, she cocks her head back and strikes with perfect precision :)

The poor little fishy had no chance; the Blue Heron is a masterful fisher! The fish tries to wiggle its way out of the herons beak, but it is futile :( Down the hatch little fishy goes :)



This video was captured near Siwas Rock from the Stanley Park sea wall, in Vancouver BC, Canada.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Great video capture! I loved how the bird appears in silhouette.

Thanks @keithboone! Some days, the batteries outlive the sun :) Or at least I get a very late start to the day, so sunsets and silhouettes are the only options left! I really like silhouettes though, and this heron gave me a good show!

The fish was quite small, but I'm sure she made it up with quantity :) Herons seem to fish quite well at night, and I imaging they can do so even when it's cloudy, so their night vision must be stellar, and the fishies shiny!

Gorgeous! Master fisherman! In general, it's so funny to watch birds catch fish.

I love it when the bird succeeds :) These herons were catching some big fish this past summer, like foot long ones and it was quite exciting to catch them on video! Now I need to find where I put those videos ;)

Thanks @ratel :)

Great job.
Perfect silhouette.

Thanks @bluefinstudios :)

I always feel proud when I can capture a heron capturing a fish! A vicarious victory ;)

they are great hunters... I can spend quite a bit of time watching them stalk a fish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98