Let's Talk Albums #8: - Double or Nothing by Big Sean & Metro Boomin

in #busy7 years ago

image.png

Double or Nothing

It seemed like everyone knew this album was coming out except for me. I really had no idea to be honest, so it was a nice surprise. It dropped in early December and I definitely have had enough time to listen through it. My perception of the album (or a few songs in particular) definitely changed throughout getting more time to listen to them. Some songs that were initially my favorite aren't so much anymore. Well let's get to the songs that standout!

Pull Up N Wreck

This song even had the nice advantage of being a single before the album came out. I think I remember that when this song came out a lot of people were skeptical and confused as to whether it was a 21 Savage song or Big Sean song. Obviously that got cleared up pretty quick once everyone realized that it was on this album! Some really great lines on here, 21 Savage saying "I put codeine all in my iced tea" is probably one of the most southern lines of the year.

Savage Time

This is a song that didn't standout to me initially but after more listens it started to click with me more. Another song that has a lot of standout bars that aren't the usual corny Big Sean that we are used to at this point. The buildup to the beat change and drop in the first minute is great to lead up to a "Metro Boomin want some more...". One of the most notable lines for me in this song is "Yeah, just like them boys in cells who had dreams of NFL (yeah) /How they s'posed to pray to God if they keep waking up in hell?" Great commentary on the prison system in the US showing how the focus is not on rehabilitation. That's a whole other topic for another time though. Song completely changes up midway through the song, I have to say I like the first half better but this part is great too. Metro kills the production on this song especially.

Go Legend

I waited till the end to talk about this song. This is one of the songs that I mentioned sounded AMAZING to me when it first came out, but now it is kinda just meh. Travis Scott is on the hook and it really isn't anything special. It just is really the melody of the song carried all by Metro's production on this one. Nothing special to note on anything else really. Maybe I'm being too harsh since I had this song on constant repeat when it came out and now don't enjoy it nearly as much...

This album is really exactly what you would imagine it to be. Big Sean doesn't go out of his comfort zone too much and Metro doesn't break much barriers than what his production usually is (not that many would even want him to). Still a nice addition to both of their discographies though.

Let me know if there are any rap albums/mixtapes that you want to see me review in the future! Chances are I've heard it, but of course open to listen to new tapes :).

Sort:  

Pull Up N Wreck didn't really impress me too much. It was good, but it just didn't give me the "holy shit this is a dank track" feel.

Savage Time was much more impressive. I agree it contained some great social commentary, from conditions on the streets to the prison system, and I liked the reference to Aretha Franklin. We need more people making real shit about freedom--and the lack of it here in the US.

Go Legend was definitely where Metro's production skills were demonstrated(I'm not too familiar with his style, but I feel like this was more of a showcase song for him). I am not the biggest fan of Autotune, but here I think it's appropriately used for it's stylistic additions to the composition, as a whole. I agree that the hook in the middle was the highlight of the song.

All-in-all, nice review! Shout-out to @yogidream.scapes for posting about The Neighborhood. Glad I ran into you guys!

I do lighting design for concerts and music festivals, and in my free time I make a little music. I'll have to post some, soon!

Thanks for your nice comment on your thoughts on it all! You definitely should post your music on here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81