Let's Talk Albums #5 - Huncho Jack, Jack Huncho by Travis Scott & Quavo

in #busy6 years ago

image.png

Huncho Jack, Jack Huncho

Probably one of the oddest looking album covers that I have seen in quite awhile. I actually really like it though, and it is actually made by the famous artist Ralph Steadman; so there is that. This was one of the most hyped projects of the year and I have to say it delivered for me personally. From what I can tell from browsing HipHopHeads and talking with friends, a lot of people weren't too ecstatic with it, but I've been bumping it since it dropped. Let's get to some of the tracks to check.

Modern Slavery

Awesome way to start the album with Otis singing for the first twenty or so seconds. I think one of the main appeals for this song to me was Quavo on the chorus. "All these damn chains modern slavery, but this ain't 1800 so they pay me" and right after you just hear a CASH ad lib. Quavo got me saying CASH each time with him its so catchy. Much like the rest of the album, Quavo and Travis Scott trade bars back and forth on this song. You can also bet that if one of them is rapping the other is throwing adlibs out in the back the whole time.

Eye 2 Eye

I think I'm just a big fan of this one sich we get to bring in the most underrated Migos member to the mix; Takeoff. To be honest the verses on this one are pretty lackluster on this one and leave a bit to be desired. The real part that I loved here was the chorus again, and the ease at which each of them switches bars again. Its just verse after verse after verse with the chorus popping up every now and then. The sharing of the chorus is pretty nice too.

Saint

I think writing about this album is making me not like it as much as I'm going lol...well a big complaint is that not a lot of the songs standout and as I got to my 3rd favorite song on the tape I don't have much to say again besides the chorus is nice. Even at that I just love the "Yeah momma built a saint" line to start it.

Basically goes to show you sometimes with albums, especially in the modern era, don't need to be pretty unique for people to like them. Well at least some people like me lol. I still would recommend checking out this project if you are in anyway a fan of Travis Scott and/or Quavo. Its not their best work, but still a cool part of their discography.

Let me know if there are any rap albums you would like me to go over in particular! There is a good chance I've heard it already too and can write about it :).

Sort:  

You should defos check out that mix tape I referred to briefly in that post on the NBHD.. There is a lot more focus on rap on that mixtape. Its called
" #000000 & #ffffff " ... EAch song has a different guest rapper or two, like Danny Brown< French Montana, G Eazy, Skeme and Og Maco, Casey Veggies & 100S .... So many!

Awesome post though, have a lovely day :)

love, Jade

Going to download it now and take a look over the next few days. I'm a pretty big Danny Brown, OG Maco, Skeme, and Casey Veggies fan. Also a big YG fan (listening to him right now actually) and he is on there too! Seems like the perfect tape for me to listen to after seeing your post!

Yay! Im so excited to see what you have to say about it. That album was actually got me interested in a little bit of the rap world, because other than that I'm a little indie rock girl XD ... although I do quite like Rae Sremmurd... I love all of the artists on there except G Eazy, no shade he's just not my type of sound xD... I love the song with YG!

My friends and I used to listen to the original Sremmlife album on repeat when it first came out!

I'm not a big G-Eazy fan either though so its funny you say that. I really do like all rap so I don't mind him, but definitely not my go to artist.

haha thats so awesome! happy to have made a new steemit friend!

I can't say I listen to this type of music too much but your perspective on it really helped me understand where the song and lyrics come from! You probably are a lot more productive when you listen to this album!

Thanks! This is definitely a go to album when I'm just jamming out and getting work done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42