Let's Talk Albums #17: Pretty Girls like Trap Music by 2 Chainz

in #busy6 years ago

image.png

This album actually ended up being one of my favorite of 2017. It really has started to come to my realization that 2 Chainz is one of the greatest of all time and there is almost no denying it. Well maybe I got carried away with my words there, but he has been in the game long enough now making amazing projects that he deserves more respect among the Hip Hop community than he gets in my opinion. This was a tough one to come up with a top 3 for, but here we go!

4 AM

Okay obviously 2 Chainz goes in on this one, but Travis Scott takes the show away completely on this one. The first couple times that I listened to this song (which was on repeat after the first time I heard it) all I could do was wait for Travis to swoop in on the chorus. Something about the way he sings on it is reminiscent of Rodeo style Travis that we all know and love. Kinda makes me wish that he had a verse on the song, but I am content with hearing him on the chorus a few times on the song before I inevitably decide to replay the song for a fifth time. Easily one of my most played songs of 2017, and I bet if I check Last.FM it can prove it.

It's a Vibe

This song probably would not have stuck out nearly as much if this album was released in Winter. This album really came in clutch during Summer time, but this song was one of my favorites to throw on when I relaxed outside. The whole band of features includes Ty Dolla Sign, Trey Songz, and Jhene Aiko. They honestly all do an equal amount of work in carrying this Summer jam, so I can't really say any of their parts really stood out to me. However, it is nice hearing a female voice like Jhene stick out in a song like this though!

Sleep When U Die

You know Saturday Night or Riverdale Road might objectively be better songs than "Sleep When U Die", but I'm kind of partial to songs with this theme. A value I always took from rap music is that hard work always pays off. Although 2 Chainz is rapping about a lot of material things, the message still resonates. I'm sure people that have listened to the album would challenge this song being in the top 3, but it definitely got its plays from me so I had to give it the spot!

Got a rap album you think I'd like that I haven't talked about? Let me know in the comments, there is a good chance I've heard it :)
image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66