Let's Talk Albums #12: Humble Beast by G Herbo

in #busy7 years ago

image.png

Humble Beast

Would it even be a week of me talking about drill artists if I didn't take the time to talk about my personal favorite drill artist? I think many fans of drill can agree that G Herbo is one of the best to do it. Really hard to hate his rap style, and his album Humble Beast was so anticipated. I felt like I was waiting FOREVER for Humble Beast, and when it dropped, it was everything that I hopped for. It was pretty damn hard to pick the top songs from the album but I figured it out :).

Malcolm

Its not secret that G Herbo is a great story teller. The thing is that some storyteller rappers really just stick to telling stories on each song. G Herbo paints pictures of scenes in every song really well, but he doesn't often go from beginning to end of a song following a single story line. Well in this song he follows the day of someone named Malcolm. Of course its pretty easy to expect that the end of this story isn't very happy...but Herbo does a great job of wrapping it up with some social commentary to think about.

Everything

It was between this song and the song "I Like" for one of the top spots...I had to go with Everything just by how much stunting there is in it. I love the end of the chorus where it goes "When you die what you gon' leave your mom...bitch EVERYTHING" Its almost as if every line ends with Herbo saying everything, cause he does EVERYTHING. Even if someone isn't a fan of G Herbo I think they'd still really enjoy this song too.

Red Snow

Ya know I would almost want to go out here and say that this is my favorite G Herbo song...but Kill Shit still exists so that isn't possible for me to say. Maybe I can say this is my favorite Herbo solo song since there isn't any features on this. Well there is a lot to say about this song, but I have an even stronger piece of advice if you are looking at this as a review. This song is 10x better when you listen to it while watching the music video. I'd encourage you to check out all of Humble Beast, but when you get to Red Snow watch the music video for it. Great cinematography.

At some point I am probably going to be talking about all of G Herbo's projects, not sure how many more I will do during this Drill themed week but we'll see!

Let me know if you have any album recommendations to go over :)

Sort:  

Lil herb is one of the realest artiste out here,but the one time I really do enjoy his music is when he does a sing with lil Bibby,does two are gold for me.

Agreed with that for sure. Any track he has with Bibby is AMAZING. Kill Shit is still one of my top songs of all time.

Man Bibby and Herb are best and realest drill duo in chiraq, real G's, flow and lyrics on point, and herbs talent to describe his childhood is godlike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62