SUNDAY HYPOCRISYsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog once again. Today, I'll be sharing my thoughts on an issue that bugs my mind sometimes. I'll appreciate your comments on this topic as well. 

Credit

All over the world, most Christian see Sundays as a very special day. Some see it as that because it's probably the only day out of the seven days of the week when they get to go to church, some see it as special because it's a day to take a rest from all the hustle and bustle of the week, some see Sunday as a special day because it's a day that gives them the avenue to show off their new outfit. Well, as far as I'm concerned, everyday is as special as the other. 

Credit

As we all know, Sunday is a day set aside for Christians (except for the seven days adventist)  to go to church. Although, other days of the week are also available for Christians to go to church but you all will agree with me that out of 100% of Christians, only probably 20% of them go to church during week days and probably 70% on Sundays; the remaining 10% remain at home for reasons best known to them. 


While I was in the University, I stayed in a hostel surrounded with those people commonly referred to as "spirikoko"- spirit filled people. I was far from being like them; although I prayed when I felt the need to, I went to church once in a blue moon, I didn't indulge in so many immoral activities and I tried as much as I could to be a good person. I'm not saying my life was perfect or better than theirs or any other person not doing what I was; but that was just the life I was living that moment. 


Then, those people (my hostel mates)  made me feel bad every Sunday. They'll wake up in the morning and ask me "Temi, are you not going to church again? You better change, start going to church, bla bla bla". Sometimes I'll get angry and tell them not to interfere in my personal life and mind their own business. When I get to go to church sometimes and they notice, they'll be like "Praise God!!!, Temi went to church today ooo". It was really annoying, trust me. Then, I just felt their hypocrisy was overwhelming. See them forming "spirikoko" but it doesn't reflect in the way they live. Is it not better to sin and sin very well than to be two sided? 


Credit

This Sunday hypocrisy has eaten deep into us even more than we know. It's very important to go to church as a Christian, do not get me wrong. I try not to miss going to church every Sunday ever since I graduated from the University. The point I'm driving at here is how hypocritical some people can be about Sundays. It is only on Sunday you will see some people playing gospel music in their homes, it is only on Sunday you'll see some people putting on their best outfit, it is only on Sunday some people are in their best behavior. And it makes me wonder. Why?

Sort:  

In 3 days you only got 3 upvotes. That shows you have not been networking properly. Wake up. Do more of objective commenting than article writing.

@eurogee, the Steemivangelist was here

I'm trying my best. It's not been easy combining steemit with work. Thanks for the upvote though

This post has received a 0.40 % upvote from @appreciator thanks to: @smile-for-tee.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66940.80
ETH 3122.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77