You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Informal Survey Results - Non-Crypto Steem Users.

in #busy6 years ago

Definitely some confirmation that as a red fish with a low 50s rep and not holding any other crypto I'm in the minority here whilst representing the majority of off the blockchain internet users that might someday stumble in here.

Steem is very much a community of insiders that have already been exposed to crypto and are likely involved in the tech industry in some capacity.

I would imagine there are only so many of these tech inclined users in the world that have the time and or see the value in investing in what from the outside looks like just another tech startup. Perhaps a few million, while there are billions of users like myself that just need an introduction and some guidance to end up joining and staying on a platform like steem.

I'd also venture to say that surprisingly to me the age demographic here is considerably older than one might expect from a hip, fresh, innovative tech. I'm assuming this has something to do with financial stability being somewhat of a requirement here as it's very time consuming to be an in the loop steemian. Time is money, and just being here is an investment, investing is generally not something many under 30 people are focused on.

Interest in investing is fostered by faith. That is currently a big ask here IMHO and not necessarily due to drama or any FUD that exists on this particular blockchain. Just another generalization that crypto investors are a more risk seeking personality type than your traditional person that's looking to establish financial security in our modern world. This is another attribute that is pigeon holing steem and is out of the control of any alliance or procedural initiatives existing internally..

Just a few musings from the minority here. Also, I want to add an ecosystem that not only makes new users feel small and insignificant based on the economic incentives that seem impossible to attain but also having labels like plankton, red fish etc. are demoralizing. But, that's the nature of capitalism, "what can you do for me" "how can we make use of each other" when there is no real hopes of social mobility what you have is a caste system that falsely promotes an idea of some steem dream of rising up the ranks. I have as much chance to become an elected official as I do of becoming a dolphin here. That's basically 0%

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I made 96 posts that didn't earn a thing. The thing with steem is it does take time, you are very right about that. Also, yes, I am also semi retired. However, you are very articulate and it would take you a year or two before you get name recognition, but I absolutely don't think you understand how accounts grow as you hold steem if you are feeling like you can't be a dolphin.

Many of your points about making new users feel small are very true and on the spot. It is never going to appeal to everyone.

However, I totally believe one can build an account. One day you wake up and you have 100 steem and you just keep posting, you've grown your followers and hold your stake... Now you are earning inflation as well as more followers, more people know your name... curation rewards start to roll in at this point as well. The other minnow that you started with grow also..

Now it starts to go faster... You hit 1000... that is a real turning point... it moves much faster, 10k... etc. It take time.

That's some amazing fortitude to persevere after nearly 100 posts that didn't earn! I appreciate you saying that I'm articulate, and also for your insistence that one can grow here with dedication and the right attitude/approach.

I will remember to check myself and respect the process while keeping an open mind. You're right in that getting over 120 sp has snuck up on me, and with an equal amount of delegation I should be happy that ultimately I'm a steem success story after only 3 months. If the price of steem was only where it was when I joined I'd have to admit it's pretty amazing my account would be worth about 100 USD and all I've done is create some semi decent content for entertainment purposes..

Considering retention in and of itself is cause for celebration, I should be elated. I think if the value of steem goes up the community will be a bit more apt to venture outside of their territory and see that there is a new class coming in that must become the next minnows and dolphins to keep the ecosystem diverse and healthy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72