POEM: LETTER TO SUNDAY STARS

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

2B63534B-55F4-4A6E-948C-65E426BB1A4D.jpeg

You pick up my letter
Your doubtful fingers
Toss the envelope into a pile

Of nightly rituals
You read communique
On a pillow-top bed

Held down by wood
You submit to see what
I’ve sent through the winter snow

It is five below
you finish my letter
As tucked blankets warm your toes

The next morning
Is your day off
Monday takes its shift

You remember my letter
Thanking you for
The slowed unwrapped gift of time

You write back and say
“There is no point in asking
To kill my brother Monday

But can’t spread
My buttery hours
Across that many minutes”


B1C6743D-6120-4858-8F92-BF9A0F1D24F9.jpeg

The city combs
The fair fog
Letting dew ponder

Is a window watch
Worth the slither
Up from 20 stories?

The home of roamers
Lights the sky
Full of muted stars

Whose dim starlight
Is as late
As this road of delayed
Traffic cars


Image sources:

Sort:  

thats the best lines in the poem
Held down by wood
You submit to see what
I’ve sent through the winter snow

It is five below
you finish my letter
As tucked blankets warm your toes

loved the write up , took it to be a poem if am correct. this line caught me
ou write back and say

“There is no point in asking
To kill my brother Monday

But can’t spread
My buttery hours
Across that many minutes”

nice one there @rubenalexander

wow!! this part is the best in this post

But can’t spread
My buttery hours
Across that many minutes”

thanks for this post ..anticipating for more

I love this piece..Really a nice one.. Wrote a poem on life yesterday..Maybe u could check it out https://steemit.com/poetry/@ctrixx/an-expose-on-life
Thanks.

Really enjoy your poetry ......

Very nic post

Thanks for giving the chance to enjoy this beautiful news!!

Nice pot brother

nice poem. I realy like it

image sources are also described thats a professional way to post

Image sources:

https://unsplash.com/@anthonytran
https://unsplash.com/@streetbuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72