Make The Edges of a Koch Snowflake With Pentagon PatternssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

I was geeking out the other day, and made an interesting discovery.

But let me take you a few steps back.

In 2006, I visited the Al Hambra. It is in Grenada, Spain and the property and architecture are heavily influenced by the Islamic architects. One thing I was baffled by was the impossibly accurate pattern work they did. Here are some examples.

image.png

image.png

image.png

After watching this video, I now believe there is a way of beginning to work towards making extremely accurate and challenging patterns like the Islamic architects did.

In the video, the narrator said it is difficult to build on 5 sided shapes due to the gaps generated when only using pentagons. I was curious about this and I began seeing what it would look like to build patterns with only pentagons.

image.png

In the end, I began seeing several generations of the koch snowflake.

image.png


Image sources ->

Sort:  

The patterns are very detailed and very impressive. All and all they are quite beautiful as well. It is impressive what people used to create themselves with their hands. now adays everything is made by machines which is quite sad.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm always mesmerized by these kinds of patterns, the intricate repetition of shape and colour have such a harmonic effect. It's also interesting how these complex patterns begin from something as simple as a pentagon.

Complex things sometime makes it even more wonderful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44