You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How My Very First SteemIt Move Was So Wrong & Will Affect My Entire SteemIt Career

in #busy7 years ago

Transfer all your SBD dollars and Steem to a new account, Power down and send your SP to the new account in 13 installments or delegate all voting power to the new account. Also create a post asking all your followers to follow your new account.

Sort:  

That's a good suggestion, but the problem is that it's extremely unlikely that all of his followers would pick up on that post, meaning he will most likely lose some of them. Also his reputation will be lost (but this is not really a big deal for most people).

@valth & @robin1991:

I indeed worked hard for that reputation. After making a few more rookie mistakes it was down to 11. I'm happy I made it to 48 already. Any idea how much impact it could have being reset to 25?

I see the point about losing the followers. Now I'm considering: I don't know if losing some of my followers now would weigh up against missing out on followers because of the username... at least in the long run

What do you guys think?

I'm just thinking out loud now: maybe I could create a couple more posts on this account, mentioning the change of name, hoping I will be able to reach the bigger part of my followers.
Maybe I can call out to them and help me choose my new username or something like that

Branding wise, the name looks weird, so I would consider migrating. With the SP you built up, you could upvote your new account so the reputation goes up a few levels. After it has an acceptable reputation, migrate all the SP to the new account. Good luck, whatever plan you choose

Thanks. I will do some more research on the steps I need to take

I honestly don't know how many people care about reputation levels. It does not really have a function as long as you stay above 30, and it's fast to build it up from 25 to 30+. I wish I had a good answer as to what you should do, but it's up to you. I guess it mostly depends on how much you want to use your account name for branding.

It's indeed a good tip, I will definitely consider it. I have to take a look at the pros and cons first

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57