A Spectacular Salt Mine Tour and Closing Dinner of Steemfest 3

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

25.jpg


I often hear that the Salt Mines are a must see if you are ever in Krakow. Thanks to @roelandp, there was an organised trip for all of us Steemians to visit there on the last day of Steemfest.

A short bus ride from the hotel and we arrived at the “Wieliczka” Salt Mine, which is about 700 years old. The tour took about 40 minutes to an hour and the only way to get to the first level was by walking down hundreds of steps! But not too worry as there is a very small miner’s cage-like lift to take you back up to the surface at the end, lol.

Once down there,we got to visit lots of chamber where there are carvings and sculptures made out of the surrounding salt! It is amazing and I can really appreciate the time and effort the artists put in creating them!

Although I have seen photographs of the salt mines previously, I was not prepared for the actual sights themselves which were totally breathtaking!

Special shout out to our tour guide, who was very engaged and knowledgeable as well as funny! I thoroughly enjoyed the stunning chambers and interesting history of this place!

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg


The highlight for me was definitely the underground Cathedral and who would have thought the Steemfest 3 meal would be served in that exclusive chamber with interiors nowhere else to be found! Thumbs up to our one and only @roelandp. This was a really special way to end the fantastic event!

11.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

17.jpg


Excellent food was served with attention to details so please allow me to share some photos with you all on this wonderful evening.

20.jpg

21.jpg

22.jpg

23.jpg

24.jpg

25.jpg


Throughout the three-course meal dinner, I kept on chatting away with my Steemian friends and taking more selfies, haha!

26.jpg

27.jpg

28.jpg

29.jpg

30.jpg

Wen-Logo-final.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, looks great! I went 1,000 feet down in a gold mine once.

Haha... did you find any gold?

Posted using Partiko Android

I saw lots of gold, but they wouldn't let me have any. LOL

Right! I'm seriously considering for next year!!!

来啊,人多热闹,呵呵!

Ohhh I missed this :( It looks amazing!!
It was nice to meeting you after a year!!

Hey@ramengirl, it was nice catching up with you on the introduction drink! Look forward to seeing you next year!!

Posted using Partiko Android

That was a perfect finish of SteemFest 3 :D

Absolutely! It was great seeing you again after the summer picnic in London. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

And you :) 😎👊

Posted using Partiko iOS

That dessert was incredible. The salt mines was a perfect way to end steemfest.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't agree more. It was lovely meeting you and the Ddaily crews. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sames! Catch ya next year

Posted using Partiko Android

I did wonder how and where the closing dinner would be in the salt mines of course the underground Cathedral I never even knew such a service was provided thanks for sharing @rea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57459.91
ETH 2436.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38