YOU CAN CREATE HEAVEN FOR SOMEONE

in #busy7 years ago

Great Minds,
This post would discuss how our little effort to support someone in need can make him feel like being in heaven already. Yes! A small support, just little assistance can turn a dying man to a superman. I would share an experience I had with a neighbour that I helped who now feel like he has made heaven already.

HELPING A NEIGHBOUR IN NEED
IMG_20180118_183740_091.JPG
Source: Google image
Dear steemians, do you know that a little support can change a man 360 degrees. My experience helping friend (let me call him so now), had taught me this and open my eyes to see life differently.
I have a neighbour, whom, I always passed by every Monday to Friday whenever I would be going to work. He looked tattered and rough, I never paid attention for a long while. I also noticed that he smokes and talked without restriction. After sometimes, I started observing him, I noticed he always greeted me, in fact he never missed to pay me salute. He did that as if it were his responsibility. Though some days after greeting he would make some nasty comments. Last December, I decided to engage him in conversation, I wanted to know more about him and how he fairs. I was in total amazement when I discovered he could speak fluently. He told me he has a National Diploma Certificate in Accounting. Wow, then what happened, that a very fine man with an average educational background wasting away with drinking and smoking. I paused a little, left him that day but then more interested in his case, I got home thinking of him throughout the night. How I could help him.
The following day, I called him to my house and told him I was going to help him out of his situation. He told me that his frustration started when his father died and his only uncle he came from village to stay with in town became hostile to him. To cut the story short, I asked him what he could do so I can help. He was specific without mincing word. If you want to help me "buy me a Motorcycle" and my life will change. What! At this your state, you drink and smoke, are you sure you can make anything out of Bike riding? I queried him, he went further to clear my doubt by giving me the analysis of how much he would make per day and his strategy to make a great change.
He explained that he would stop drinking and smoking. That was a lie I let him know. But he insisted he would stop.
He convinced me he could change, I had to stressed my pocket, I even had to get a little money elsewhere to add to what I had and bought him a Motorcycle.
Today makes it a month and 10 days, my joy know no bounds, this amazing young man came to me just yesterday, praising me with some money, half of the cost of the Bike. He has changed, looking refreshed and polished. He is no longer the same. He emphasized to me that he had stopped drinking and smoking. I was shocked to my bones, could these be true. He looks really changed. Yes, it is possible he stopped which I can not substantiate but from our yesterday meeting. Miracle has taken place indeed.
IMG_20180118_183315_292.JPG
(picture depicting how excited my neighbour and friend now is)
Source: Google image

MY TAKE HOME AND ADVICE
Please if there is any way you can help someone, dont hesitate to do so, no matter how small you think your help is. It worth more than heaven to a dying man. Sometimes we fail to give help on the ground that we have little but I tell you little is actually much to a needy person.
A lot of young talented and smart youth are wasting away because no one cared, no one is available to render the needed help. The help can come in any form, it could be advice, financial assistance or just to provide and point someone to the information and direction. Just give, do the little you can and watch it turn things around.
This young man who is old enough to be my age mate now sees me as his god despite how much I tried to stop him from thanking me anytime he sees me. He is now confident of himself and very responsible.
Do you know that a lot of youths engaged in unscrupulous activities including drug abuse would not ordinarily engage in such were their conditions better. Poor and rough condition create evils of young minds. And these we can change by rendering the little help we can.
Help someone today
Live sweet

Thanks for reading

Your comments are welcomed

Sort:  

One of the most beautiful posts I have read here on steemit. An ounce of help is indeed greater than a pound of preaching/prayers. Thank you. Your simple act of kindness will sure create an endless ripple of gratitude and a reciprocal of such kindness. I hope you live long enough to see the multiplier effect of this kind gesture of yours cos I know rescued people often do pass it on. Thumbs up and thank you once again.

Thanks a lot
we all need to render the little help you can to make the world a better place

Hello, you received an upvote from @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Wow, you've really changed his life @princeso and that is incredible!! Despite the history that he has had, you still do what you believed was right and that led to him changing into a better person. From your story, I believe that we should be less judgmental of others. Instead, we should focus on efforts and attention into encouraging and supporting them to do the right things :)

You are special, thanks for taking the pain to go through the post.
Really there are a lot of young people wasting away that needs our help.

Just like you said dont look at their present condition something pushed them there and we can help them out

@princeso Please don't think like that, it's not a pain but pleasure throughout to read your post!! :)

Are you working on any initiatives via STEEM Blockchain to help more youngsters? :)

Nothing much special on steem blockchain except introducing them to steem.
The challenge usually is most of them dont have a phone that can access the internet and those that have are unable to subscribe for data plan since data is costly here.

What I do is to help some with data subscription.
I am also planning of getting phones for 3 of the most serious ones by the end of this month when I am paid.

I open whatsapp group where i mentor some youth on steem and general financial growth

This post has received a 2.64 % upvote from thanks to: @princeso.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.

Before sending a transfer to @minnowhelper, verify that your publication meets these conditions (http://www.minnowhelper.com/conditions.php). After the transfer is made, no claims will be received.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Congratulations.

Thanks for sharing your story!

wow, great man, it's so inspiring.

helping other is the main purpose of our life and the happiness we get by helping other can't be measured.

Thanks, I am glad this inspire you, pls render help if you can no matter how small. And you will feel the overflowing joy in you too

yeah our little can be very helpful someone who is needy.

There are many youth out on the streets educated and not able to find any form of employment, it makes your heart bleed for them @princeso well done in just helping one.

Once you start attitudes change, all in good time he will help others and that is how many more become self-reliant and good teachers to others.

Living in Africa, this happens all too often and helping another goes a long way.

You are right @joanstewart. So many youth yearning for help, May God help us to do our best to assist as many as we can.
Thanks

Kind and inspiring read, @princeso. I agree that good efforts won't come to waste, it's a kind of butterly effect with it. All the best, Klaudia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78