Keep Climbing That Hill. What's At The Top Might Surprise You.

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

In keeping with the pledge I made earlier on to get off Steemit and experience the real world (see my previous post), I decided to leave my house to take a short walk. Little did I know that I was going to have one of the most challenging experiences which would test my ability to persevere physically and mentally.

Immediately, I opened the door I was slapped in the face by the crisp winter breeze which was coming at me at 90km/h (55mph). Little did I know that there was a wind warning in effect and according to the weather website (I checked the site after I got back), "High winds may toss loose objects or cause tree branches to break" . I thought to myself "great! the one day I pledge to enjoy nature, just happens to be the windiest day of the year so far!"

At this point, the song Ironic by Alanis Morissette popped into my head. If you haven't heard it, check it out below. Trust me it's a good song and totally fits my situation.

Anyway, I refused to give up. I had made a pledge and no amount of wind would prevent me from fulfilling that pledge. On came my gloves, jacket and hat and I was out the door. My first few steps were okay and I started to think "this is not so bad...." but those were the proverbial "famous last words".

In two minutes, I was almost knocked off my feet by the full velocity of the 90km wind. I had to brace myself several times and hold on to a nearby tree branch to stop from being blown off my feet. My eyes were watery, my knees started to knock and my fingers were so cold that they didn't feel like they were mine anymore. To add to this there was this huge hill in front of me that I had to climb! Those of you who live in cooler temperatures probably do not think that this is a big deal, but the temperature in my town is supposed to be relatively mild so I was terribly unprepared for this.

Regardless of the signals my body was giving me, I was determined to continue my walk and hopefully take some pictures to prove that I did it.
When I arrived at the top of the hill, I looked up and was greeted by the beautiful sight of a church. Seeing this quaint little 19th century church made me smile and think to myself that it was all worth it at the end, even if it was just to be able to take a photograph of this church. For this reason and because being a Sunday it kind of fits right in, I decided to take a picture of the beautiful church. I hope you find it as beautiful as I do.
IMG_1485.jpeg

What I learned from my experience today is not to give up at the first sign of adversity. To keep going because you'll never know what might be waiting for you at the top of the hill. Have a good night!

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, and do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, for your post to be recommended to other curators. If you are using any image or video, cite proper source. Even if its your own image or video, it's worth mention the same.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Congratulations @oncebey60! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49