Attitude and Leadership.

in #busy6 years ago

Effect and outcomes.



Yesterday I posted about attitude and it's effect on outcomes. How you approach a situation has a huge bearing on how the issue will finish. One of my favorite movie quotes is from "Remember the Titans." I you haven't seen it, this is a small summary.

Remember the Titans is a film based on the true story of Coach Herman Boone, who tries to integrate a racially divided team.
In 1971, T. C. Williams High School hires a black head coach, Herman Boone to lead the school's newly desegregated football team.
During their practices, black and white football team members often clash in racial conflicts. The biggest fights occur between the white captain, Gerry Bertier and black player, Julius Campbell. In time, Boone is able to achieve racial harmony on the team. Bertier and Campbell become close friends. The Titans go through a winning season and the team slowly gains support from the community.

Ref: https://www.awesomestories.com/asset/view/Remember-The-Titans/Summary


There is obviously a lot more to it than that but the quote that always sticks with me is when they are at pre season training and the captain starts a fight over the attitude of the player, Julius who is not giving enough effort. When his attitude to the team is called into question, he replies.


image.png


What makes a leader?



We often have to do seminars and courses for work on management and leading teams. Part of it was listing what you look for in a leader and who that might apply to in the world. Thinking of 5 points that are essential in a leader.

  • Motivational
  • Determined
  • Hard-Working
  • Fair
  • Forward Planning


    At the time, my pick was Paul O'Connell. Former Ireland / Lions and Munster rugby captain.


    image.png

Leaders on Steemit.



Just thinking about the subject brought me to thinking about the leaders we have on Steemit. When I think about these qualities, who comes to mind???

The first user I followed who has consistently been posting quality work that fits my profile was @taskmaster4450. I enjoy what he posts. He always has good up to date info and is unfailingly optimistic about about the future of STEEM.

The second person who comes to mind is @abh12345. A constant presence on Steemit who runs the curation league and is part of the @steemcommunity witness project. Along with @paulag who runs the redfish and minnow power-up leagues I find them to be real leaders in the community.

I'm a massive fan of @nathanmars who is single handedly driving @dtube and it's use. His constant drive for success along with his generous delegations has really motivated users to do more and be more through the app.

There are plenty other people who I could and probably should mention who have added so much to what I see on a daily basis, these just happen to be the ones that spring to mind first. The people who I see fit a leaders profile in my eyes.

Does it apply to me?? No



Right now, definitely not.

I am not a leader in this community and have no plans to be for the moment. Going forward, I would like to do more. It's a long road in terms of what we have here so I don't know where any of this will be in five years but I would like to think that we still have a thriving community that has grown and evolved while holding to the values that i can see here right now.

The best way for this is to see what these leaders are doing and adjust my attitude to reflect it. I will try to post more often and more quality than I have at the moment. I think it's time to bring a few people along with me and help their journey through the site. Just like these people have helped me.

My attitude up to this point has been about enjoyment and engagement which is fine to a point. From now on though, I think it's time for a bit more dedication to the cause and my push towards whale status. If i can get there while helping a few more users along the way then even better. I believe there will be a big future for the people on the STEEM blockchain and want to get as many people there as possible. I will have a sit down and see if there is any way to organize my plans a bit better and put something in place.

Any and all suggestions are welcome as to how we can do a bit better for everybody.



image.png

Sort:  

hey, @niallon11.

I agree. Taskmaster4450 always has very timely, interesting and thought provoking posts, whether I always agree, and to what degree, or not. He is definitely a thought leader, and while he is very positive on STEEM, I think he's gone into this with eyes wide open. That's why I read what he writes.

I can't say enough about Asher. He is definitely a force. He always seems to be right on with his ideas and initiatives, regardless of who he gives the credit to. I don't know paulag as much, but the few interactions I've had with her, she has been right there with Asher.

I don't spend a whole lot of time watching videos, so dTubers aren't folks I see regularly. I would hope, though, someone is leading that/those community(ies).

I wouldn't undersell yourself, either. You may not be leading out quite yet, but you do want to help others, and regardless of the size or form that takes shape in, you will be/are a leader to someone. I don't know that any of us have to be leaders of full-blown communities to be an example of how to act or be.

I wish you luck in these endeavors of yours. I hope you find success and satisfaction in it, however you decide to define that.

Taskmaster4450 always has very timely, interesting and thought provoking posts, whether I always agree, and to what degree, or not. He is definitely a thought leader, and while he is very positive on STEEM, I think he's gone into this with eyes wide open. That's why I read what he writes.

I enjoy his posts because of how they make you think and his realistic view on matter. Now i don't always agree with his opinion but i'm one of those people who appreciates that we all have different opinions and can respect them even if i don't believe them. He is also very good for being first to the party and seems to know what is happening before most other people.

As for the rest of the people I just think that they are great users who have all added to my experience on steemit and helped me forward in some way or another. As for myself I just try to pay it forward. I have met so many great people on here that it's only right to pass it on to others who need a bit of help.

You may not be leading out quite yet, but you do want to help others, and regardless of the size or form that takes shape in, you will be/are a leader to someone. I don't know that any of us have to be leaders of full-blown communities to be an example of how to act or be.

I do however appreciate your comment on here and it's always nice to hear from the others who are in my position. It is one of the best that i have gotten in a while so thank you you. Hopefully you are on the right track as well and heading towards your goals.

To tell you the truth, @niallon11, the one thing I really haven't done is to set an overall goal, mostly because I'm not even sure what I would realistically consider. So, I generally try to improve in some way over what I did the week before, and then hope to keep everything else up to par. Doesn't always work, but here and there it does.

Mainly, I'm trying to get as much STEEM/SBD powered up from the different opportunities through posting, commenting and curating (which includes contests), before it gets too difficult to do so, as some are quick to predict. Regardless, I feel like I'm accomplishing something (for the most part), and doing something I like to do very much (writing), and spending as much time as I can doing it.

For now, that's more or less the important things to me, and so I think I'm getting there. :) Slowly.

Well that's very kind of you to mention me in this way, much obliged!

I don't see myself as a leader, but i'm happy that you see some of the qualities involved with my actions.

it's time for a bit more dedication to the cause and my push towards whale status

This is what I like to hear!

You might not think so but i'm sure your followers would have a different opinion. You post, comment, organize communities, contests and motivate everybody to do a bit better. If that's not a leader then I don't know what is.

Keep up the good work. We all appreciate it!!

Thanks again!

I'm glad another commentator mentioned @fulltimegeek, I owe a lot to his guidance and actions.

Thanks for this insightful post @niallon11. I love that Movie. Seen it probably 3 or 4 times.

Attitude really means everything in all facets of Life ;)

It makes all the difference really. It goes a long way to acomplishing any task or goal.

Might have to watch the movie again soon it's been a few years.

Posted using Partiko Android

We are just leaders in training following the folks you mentioned in that post.

I also count @surpassinggoogle and @fulltimegeek in with those folks and am actively seeking out other leaders, supporting them and building my stake to be able to do the same.

We can do it.

Absolutely. As I said there would be a full list if i really got started and they are two users that I have come across in the past as well. It takes a while to find the right people but you know them once you do.

Hopefully that might be us some day helping out the newcomers to steemit and driving engagement.

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.117 which ranks you at #9385 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 138 places in the last three days (old rank 9523).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 248 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72