A guilty pleasure challenge.

in #busy6 years ago

image.png
source

The challenge.



So the challenge has been put out by @blewitt to write about our guilty pleasures. This won't be easy since guilt might be a strong word for what i enjoy doing. Either way I will put together a few of the simple pleasures in life that can perk you up on a bad day. Sometimes the smallest things can have the biggest effect on your mood. A strong cup of tea when your mood is down or a hot shower after a long hard day. Those are what can turn the day around.

Food



You might not know about them but "Mighty Munch" are the most delicious bag of crisps out there. They are one of those cheap but savage spicy crisps and have been my favorite since I was a kid.


image.png


I try to eat healthy where i can but when I'm feeling a bit lazy or hungover nothing beats a multi pack of mighty munch and a day watching Netflix. It's the best cure. They also taste great in a sandwich which seems to be an Irish only thing. Anybody from other countries seems to find it strange to make crisp sandwiches. Or cheese, ham and crisp sandwiches. It might sound disgusting but believe me they are delicious.

Drink



Now if I do have a hangover there could be multiple reasons for it. In terms of alcohol I'm not fussy about what I drink even though Guinness is usually on the menu for a few quiet ones but there are certain drinks that fit certain times. On a hot summers day there is nothing that will quench the thirst like a pint bottle of Bulmers poured into a pint glass full of ice and drained in a few mouthfuls while sitting outside. It's the definition of summer over here and is one of life's great pleasures.


image.png


Then there is the inverse of that which is a hot whiskey on a cold winter's night. You take a nice whiskey. Jameson or Bushmills usually, spoon of sugar, hot water and drop in a slice of lemon with three cloves in it. It just warms you down to the core. Ever sip is a warm comforting feeling in your stomach and on the coldest of winter nights with a match on the tv and friends by the fire it's the only way to go.


image.png

Television.



I watch a lot of sport on the television. Rugby, soccer, hurling, fighting, whatever is there to be watched really but there is no guilt there. I just love the sport. When it comes to programmes I will watch most things but do have a fondness for fantasy and anything set in a different reality. Something that goes away from the everyday stuff we live through.

My ultimate guilty pleasure



To be fair this one is a throwback to growing up and at thirty I probably shouldn't like it as much as I still do but it has to be Harry Potter. The books, the movies, the whole world that JK Rowling has build around that one character.


image.png

I've been in love with the books since i read my first one as a child. I still have a full set on my bookcase here and break them out once in a while when I feel the need. They contain so much and have such a great story around them that i always get lost back into the books even twenty years later. I still have the full extended movie collection saved to a hard-drive here and can switch on any of them when I'm a bit down and it always perks me up a bit. They are on our TV here every Xmas and my sister loves them too so we can often watch a couple of them when there is nothing else on and we have gathered at home for the holidays.

I'm one of those people with an encyclopedic knowledge of the series. Follow all the news and read the fan fics. It's not an obsession and i don't have wizards robes or go all out with it but I would still be a massive fan and probably always will be. There is such a huge following that we should really build a community for it on STEEM somewhere and it will guarantee you lots of active and obsessed people.

Summary



These are just a few of many guilty pleasures that I have and some of the better ones compared to what i could put up here but this seemed more appropriate. I hope that it gives a slight insight into what I like and thanks to @blewitt for organizing the competition. Even if I don't make it to the prizes I hope that we can get a bit of interaction going and give some steemians a bit of love while it is a bit down around here. I will have to check out the competition and see what everybody else is up to. Good luck and enjoy yourself.

Just remember nobody lives forever.


This is the contest link for anybody else wanting to get involved.


https://steemit.com/guiltypleasures/@blewitt/guilty-pleasures-writing-prompt-cbf0146e16088


image.png

Sort:  

i do Soccer and alcohol, what a combination :D

That's the plan for tonight anyway. I've the fire down, barca on the tv and time for a bulmers now I think.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for participating!!! Nice to meet ya @niallon11! Having folks who I’ve never met before participate is truly rewarding so thanks a ton my friend!!!

Mighty Munch looks fake. Lol. Now I want to try.

I'm always looking for new people and new concepts to follow. I love finding interesting people to follow and contests to join so this one was perfect. Thanks for setting it up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fantastic!!! Truly appreciate your involvement. I love doing contests so stay tuned!!!

Hi, @niallon11!

You just got a 29.73% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.799 which ranks you at #4604 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 66 places in the last three days (old rank 4538).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68218.35
ETH 2640.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69