To Buy or Not to Buy... Steem?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2019-11-19 at 5.28.01 PM.png

Screenshot from CoinGecko Dashboard

The end of the month is getting closer and I have yet to make my monthly purchase of Steem as this has been a busy and demanding month for me financially. The majority of the funds I had set aside for cryptocurrency investments have been used to deploy into my portfolios as the attractive prices have continued to be available. However, I have continued to allocate resources into the ecosystem in different ways as I continue to believe that they could become the foundation to a great future both in my portfolios as well as my stake here on the ecosystem.

My 2019 goal was to reach 25k Steem Power and the last couple of months have been challenging to get there but not because of not having the appetite or will power to continue. In fact, I have purchased almost 10k Steem over the last couple of months given these great prices but have not powered them up. Instead, I have used the liquid Steem to strengthen my Splinterlands Collection in order to improve my ability to compete and achieve great earnings by way of capturing Dark Energy Crystals (DEC) and Reward Edition Cards which have continued to have great value in the Steem economy. The investment has worked very well as I have been able to maximize my resources with great returns from my gameplay as well as seeing the value of cards increase during the same time. The value of my Collection has grown substantially during this time as well despite Steem not doing much.

One of the financial commitments I made this month was participating in the latest Kickstarter for Splinterlands. As I had mentioned before, I pledged a pretty large amount given how well the investment in my Collection has gone as well as having the experience to get the family involved as I will be helping design a special card for the games latest version of cards called Untamed. The experience has already been fulfilling as seeing my daughter excited about designing the art and the character story as well has been great as she is quite creative. This is what probably held me back buying more Steem as the pledge is worth about 36,000 Steem as I write this!

This has broadened my view about Steem in general as it has truly become an ecosystem as our account values are not the only thing that has value. My collection in Splinterlands is value more than twice my Steem stake which makes me surpass my ultimate goal of being an Orca here. Throw in the increasing amount of Steem Engine assets we earn in addition to the pure relationships and networks we create with community, there is no doubt we create value here and the potential to build upon it is incredible. It also allows us to diversify our exposure even within the ecosystem which is another great opportunity for us to allocate resources that are not always measured in value or money. Instead, allocating time to play Splinterlands, engage in blogs, curate content, among many other activities provide us a way to broaden our reach across the ecosystem.

In addition to these considerations, there are a number of reasons why my delay to buy more Steem make sense. First, I still think that the price still has both fundamental and technical headwinds that will make it a challenge to overcome in the short-term. Considering the continued weak market in the cryptocurrency asset market, Steem needs to demonstrate externally its potential to attract engagement that is sustainable and able to create value. Being still in the Top 100 (although struggling to remain) is a sign of its potential but the journey to climb to where it once was is increasingly challenging giving the competition of attracting capital when compared to the others available in the market.

Despite being a big believer in Steem, I have found myself more attracted to add to other positions given the prices we are seeing. Some assets that remain in the Top 25 continue to have my attention as they seek to expand in adopting the technology. For example, the whole DeFi movement has garnered my attention as one of the assets I hold, DAI and the Maker DAO have made some upgrades recently that sound really interesting. While I have yet to review the details, looking for a way to decentralize our assets and earn from them is very attractive. On the other hand, I am not very technical in nature and I may hesitate to participate until I better understand which may provide an opportunity to move some of these assets in Steem or others.

The coming days will be interesting as I have always looked forward to buying some Steem every month. Breaking the cycle is unlike me but there is still much to consider. However, having the mindset to have it as a consideration continues to encourage me that Steem remains a passion of mine. I still have the long term view of not only Blockchain technology but Steem as a protocol so it will only take time which is not a bad thing considering the amount of activities we can engage in here in the meantime. While I do not know my answer at the moment, I know that buying more will not be far behind!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
Introducing DCLICK: An Incentivized Ad platform by Proof of Click. - Steem based AdSense.

Hello, Steemians. Let us introduce you a new Steem B...

Sort:  

I have been buying small amounts, but also fear there are cheaper prices ahead.

Great going with the Splinterlands collect, what a superb investment thus far!

Amazing to see how much Steem my collection is worth! Gives me more encouragement to the future potential of the ecosystem. I will definitely get going towards accumulating again soon.

If you do have faith, buy it now. If not, wait.
I do think that it will drop a little bit more. I won't purchase any new steem above $0.1

I have faith but I also recognize that timing it all is impossible so I prefer just buying every month a similar dollar amount to continue accumulating.

Yeah there are a lot of great projects competing for our interest lately.

I'm going to start purchasing Steem again when I see some marketing efforts and less discussion around rewards.

The emphasis that so many people put on rewards is very short-sighted. Inflation is only adding 8% to the total of Steem over the next year and only three-quarters of that goes to rewards. So people are fixating on 6% of the Steem. A lot of people seem to be missing the big picture.

Even as a fairly well paid Steemian, when I post I earn about the price of an expresso.

When I want more steem, I will buy it.

I agree completely! I held so long not to use my Steem but given how easy and cheap it is to buy now, I never feel the pressure to earn it as much; it is liberating indeed.

The big picture is different for many which is why we are here. However, I think there is still an opportunity for it to be so much.

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.650 which ranks you at #1770 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 89 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36