Steem Monsters Sunday!: Season 2 Changes are Live

in #busy6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 6.15.04 PM.png

Source

After a great inaugural season one, @steemmonsters immediately started the second season with some adjustments to improve the competitiveness and user experience. As promised, the developers looked closely into the data from season one and decided to tweak a number of features and systems to consider feedback received as well as things theybsaw during season one. They posted an article that detailed these changes leading up to season two so that players could prepare.

Leagues.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

The first change they detailed was the matchmaking system among players. The community continues to grow quickly with over 2,500 users which have now played over 500,000 games! Given the amount of players, there is a large range of strength of the cards they hold. In order to improve balance, they are now limiting matchmaking to players that are in a particular division. Therefore, Bronze League players which probably do not have very powerful cards, will no longer need to play against a player in the Gold Division.

Player will begin in the Division the reset points provide from the previous season. For example, I finalized season one with around 3,100 points which was the Diamond Division. In reaching that Division, my default ranking points was reset to 2,200 to start season two. This made me start in the Gold Division. In order to continue seeking balance, they also started providing limits on the level of cards that could be used in each Division. For example, all new players start at Novice where all cards have a maximum of level 1. As the players move up in Division, the max level of the cards used also increase until you reach Diamond League where all cards are allowed. If your cards are higher than those allowed in the Division, they will be adjusted downward to accomodate to the limitation of the Division to play. They will automatically adjust up until their real level as you grow into the higher Divisions.

This has been an interesting change in season two as it made for more competitive games in all the divisions. I found myself battling equal teams many times in Division Gold which provided for some interesting matches including a 23 round battle that ended with a win! I think this is a great way for players to have a great experience no matter how many cards they have and how they have leveled them up to compete. I have yet to combine any of my Kickstarter packs opened but I find mysef seriously considering doing so given how difficult it now is to battle once in the Diamond league. I have found myself battling users that have more than 10,000 ranked points at this stage. However, I have been able to complete my daily quests and climb up the leaderboard on a daily basis with Champions League now in sights as I sit around 3,400 points in Diamond League. The motovation definitely exists to get there as the starting amount of packs rewarded for reaching the Division is at 20!

Profile 11-11-18.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

The team also released the rewards for season two as they have put 300 SBD for the Top ten players for season two. While I think the continued rewards have been a great motivational initiative for the game, it has also started to bring those that look for ways to achieve advantages to maximize their rewards. During the early part of the season, bots have been seen on the top of the leaderboards which could be eligible to the rewards set by the development team. They have also been farming the free Beta booster packs as the amount needed to start an account and provide a delegation for bandwidth is fairly low and the current system provides them are very short barrier to entry. The community has already been vocal about this and the developers have said they are committed to adjust this behavior to improve the competitiveness of the gamers battling.

Lastly, they have adjusted a numbers cards to improve balance between splinters. For example, they removed the dodge ability of ellusive the Spirit of the Forest. Changes have been both negative and positive in order to improve team alternatives. Their post details all these changes which are important to review in order to know if your go-to teams have had any material changes to them.

Playing with GF for First Time.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

Despite a busy week for me, I have been able to play each day in order to at least complete the day quest to claim a free beta booster pack. I have continued to enjoy the gameplay and am quickly becoming pretty good at creating competitive teams. I was able to quickly get from Gold Division to Diamond with most of my teams but have recently had challenges in the Diamond Division as I am being matched with higher leveled or even maxed out cards. However, I have begun to have fun with some cards as well as I even took my Gold Foil Lord of Darkness out for some battles. I guess I was trying to show it off for some battles!

This week I hope to continue completing my quests and strive to climb the ladder into Champions League. However, I have a feeling that I will need to make some changes to be able to do so like buy more Beta packs or buy individual cards in the market to max out one team at a minimum. I still have the Beta Gold Foil Legendary that I could sell for funds to buy more but I have hesitated as I want to hold on to my gold cards for the future tournament system which is still under development. The game continues to be engaging which is great for entertainment and sharing with the community.

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

I agree with the game being well balanced and fun. I have been able to compete with only the level 1 cards that I have gotten by gifts and rewards. I continue to play and look forward to the tournaments when they launch.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very good breakdown of how SteemMonsters is Working so Far. I like you find myself at that Point Where I need to dig into my Wallet and Level UP some more Cards in order to stay competitive..........@newageinv

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.307 which ranks you at #7637 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 15 places in the last three days (old rank 7622).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #127.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58