Running for ReflectionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-02-16 at 7.43.16 PM.png

This picture was from a recent trip to Puerto Rico when I opted to go to a local track for a run as the weather had been pretty bad given the rain and the road I had normally taken for a jog was muddy and more dangerous than usual given the conditions (there are no sidewalks on those roads). The picture reminded me of the moments I often use these runs for some reflection and stress relief.

These days, I find myself often going for runs just to reflect on many things going on in my life. I feel that it is my sort of therapy to get out of the routine and relieve some of the stress given the amount of things I have going on these days. My main challenge is that I have many things I want to do but different from what I need to do. The obligations of raising a family and the consumerism we have fallen victim to require me to continue working hard to achieve the goals of my employer. Though most times they align with my own from a professional development perspective, sometimes they do not.

I have been able to balance well both life and work but often go to extremes to accommodate them accordingly. There are times that I am working 14-15 hours a day during the week and can’t even get more than 10 minutes to eat in the middle. Then, there are times when I get in late and leave early because I could stare at the computer screen without anything to do. What I have learned of the extremes is that I am built to work under pressure and outperform my peers. With or without teams, I am a doer and enjoy getting work done.

So, lately during my runs I have been considering how well this disciplined approach can help me achieve the tasks I really want to do to better my family and myself. I feel a sense of entrepreneurial spirit growing in me that has me reading and listening more about the lives of great entrepreneurs in history. A commonality I often find is the spirit of doing things and solving problems and challenges. I have often thought the “comfort zone” of a stable income really limits our possibilities instead of expanding them. I have seen how great businesses have been created from unemployment and the need to respond to adversity. While I cannot wish that upon myself, I feel that I can make adjustments necessary to find my way to an entrepreneurial life in the future.

I feel the start if this journey is here in Steem as it is a community of builders and doers. I continue to be encouraged by the possibilities of blockchain technology and how it can change the world and often bring down the barriers for anyone wanting to create something here on the platform. While not a developer, I often look to the ideas of things to create. I have started to build outlines to business plans and models for projects that have the potential to come to the ecosystem. I continue this journey without knowing the end result but I feel accomplished as at least I feel that it was something done for me.

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Balancing work and life is an everyday struggle. It's your and my goal to make money while we sleep to enjoy the most important thing in life, family. I too get excited everyday of the things I see on Steem...one day at a time.

https://steemit.com/steem/@the4thmusketeer/now-is-a-good-time-to-buy-steem

Also, @therealwolf has been working on adding Steem to various Dapp platforms including StateofTheDapps, DappReview, and more. Not only this but I think since Steem is starting to be seen more as a great place to build a new Dapp we have a lot of new Dapps on the blockchain including the very new DrugWars game which has grown very quickly, MagicDice still has a lot of users, and Steem Monsters still has over 2,000 users. Steem Apps Further, there are several new Dapps on Steem including WhereIn, Share2Steem, SteemBounty, and more which have recently increased their total number of users. Actifit has also recently been growing their number of users quickly. Plenty of more Dapps that I didn't have time to include.

Well said! Funny you mention some of these projects as I recently went on a sort of SP delegation spree and delegated to some your mention which provide opportunities for upvotes, passive earnings and future SMTs!

Posted using Partiko iOS

how the heck do you balance work, steem and family. you are amazing. Like can you stand time still or something?

I use to love running. When life was not good, a run would fix things. ever time I took a step was like pounding at the problems till they no longer existed.

It’s a struggle particularly because Inlove engaging so much but the recent increase in activity across the ecosystem has been tough to keep up with then the weekends are for family so right now is really the first time all weekend I can actually engage (also doing it while on the treadmill!) as the weather was great to be with the family outdoors and that continues to be the priority!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hear ya. I tend not to do much online over the weekend too. there is no way I can fit it in. with kids activities it can be very busy. As the weather continues to improve in ireland, being out and about with them will become more frequent.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.364 which ranks you at #2407 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 201 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79