Changes IncomingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Prairie-path-field-scenic-natural.png

Source

I decided to take some time to write a couple of thoughts as I prepare for a busy two weeks that will make my efforts to keep my engagement up even worst. While I had thought that I would stop making posts everyday, I quickly recall what jumpstarted my journey to Dolphinhood. My first month of posting every day demonstrated the benefits of engaging and remaining present and introduced me to an ever grinding rabbit hole I went through to post everyday and become one of the more active community members around. The combination of the implications of the latest Hard Forks and my limited time have made me think twice about these efforts.

I still believe it is too early to call the changes we are seeing permanent but my personal experience has been mixed as the excitement of the community in general by seeing improvements in the trending section as well as seeing well deserved authors earning more than the past has been offset by personal experiences whereas earnings are down and incentivizing engagement seems to be more difficult for a mid-sized dolphin. However, it leads me to think that the net result is added value to the ecosystem given the continued development being seen. As an investor, this continues to encourage me to continue my journey and adapting to learn my place in its future.

The positive about the upcoming weeks is that it will include some travel which normally provides me some time to catch up on some reading to research opportunities in a numbers of areas I have looking at. While my engagement may be limited in that time, I hope to return with some more clarity on how my journey will continue here in the ecosystem. I will continue to make my best efforts to provide content every day but am certain that it may be limited on some days. In fact, I will probably emphasize my curation efforts during this period as it seems as the changes have demonstrated that curation is now an important consideration as we are now seeing the bid bots transforming their services to include their own curation efforts!

Another consideration I need to think about and adapt is how I incentivize engagement and those followers that I have appreciated for a long time as there are a number of you that are very active in engaging here and around the ecosystem. My upvote is no longer what it used to be so I really want to find a way to show my appreciation of your thoughts and feedback in the comments so that it may continue. I have a couple of ideas regarding some Steem Engine tokens, Splinterlands and even SBIs; but need to consider them before committing myself to them.

Lastly, I have yet to purchase any Steem this month despite the attractive price nor have I powered any up in months. While it has mostly been due to the amount of resources being spent in my Splinterlands Collection as of late, I still believe that I can make my goal of 25k Steem Power a reality much sooner than the end of the year. The changes from the Hard Fork(s) have made it much more difficult to get Steem so this may be my last opportunity to get closer to Orca. Interesting times to come!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
Earn A.S.S. for posting memes, or buy A.S.S. token on Steem-Engine.com & get recognized by Ackza

Want to make fyrstikken happy? Buy the ASS token and...

Sort:  

There have been pros and cons to individuals, but I think the ecosystem as a whole has been energized and looks and feels healthier. I think my earnings are up a little considering the 50/50 split, but not a massive amount. Hopefully the voters are getting decent CR on it and will keep looking for content. I like that there are curation initiatives returning to the mix too.

I agree which is why lately I am looking at the side of value being created to hep the value of my stake although it gets harder to build. Then again, that may be the trick to all this; making is tough to get Steem for free may put the value front and center over time! Engagement is down (for me) but not my beliefs!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wasn't sure what to expect from EIP, and to some extent I was right: big and most auto-upvotes generally tend to go to popular authors. But not always. There's a lot more manual curation going on and I received upvotes from people I never saw before upvoting my posts, culminating yesterday with what will probably be the best payout I will have for a post so far.

It's still worth posting daily, even for small authors, but I think payouts are more dynamic and harder to anticipate what they will be in the end.

Looking forward for more content from you!

Totally agree as I have been pleasantly surprised with some manual curation! I think that remaining present is a key aspect of building value across the network and relationships we are able to create here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm going to decrease my content creation too starting tomorrow. College is starting and I'll have to spend the whole days either studying or in classes, I'm going to try to keep the curation and commenting up, but I'm not sure if I'll be able to post as much, I guess that's the good thing about the new hardfork though, with the way the distribution now works, one can just focus on curation, and it seems big accounts are doing it now more than they ever did, but I would love to see some good hard stats about this phenomenon :)

I think the SBI way is one of the best ways to help the engagement, because if you are a content creator or curator/commentator those SBIs will always help out no matter what.

Safe travels, have some fun

Education is the best investment so good choice! I think these changes have been meant for us to really think about what we want to do here and how we can find a place. I really do like the fact that good content is getting rewarded and just hope that the content to take us to the next level is found with all these curation efforts!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have similar thoughts about engaging and upvoting comments. As my upvote is pretty worthless (in Steem), I have started to upvote comments with other account where I have big chunk of staked tokens. Doing that I'm giving more value to my followers and commenters.

That is also another layer I have not even considered! I have to get to my Steem Engine Wallet to claim and stake it all as I think curation across all levels will be what adds value to the ecosystem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hello dear friend @newageinv.

Although the reward to the authors was reduced to 50% we can notice higher income. This is because curation efforts are now greater. Publications are accumulating better rewards and original and quality content is being recognized. These are immediate benefits that we are seeing with the application of HF21.

I will continue to make my best efforts to provide content every day but am certain that it may be limited on some days.

Hopefully you find enough time to achieve it and continue giving us your brilliant articles.

In fact, I will probably emphasize my curation efforts during this period as it seems as the changes have demonstrated that curation is now an important consideration ...

This would be a very sensible action on your part. In fact, the curatorship activity has increased significantly, so increasing your SP and making generous manual votes would be beneficial for you and the author you decide to support.

Perhaps the only factor that is probably escaping control is the indiscriminate use of downvotes. I think it was necessary to refine this process a little more since many posts are being punished that do not deserve it.

All best, Piotr.

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.650 which ranks you at #1770 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 107 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81