A Retreat…

in #busy5 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-03-02 at 8.27.53 PM.png

I had been hesitant to share this experience as I know that discussing issues of spirituality can bring conflict and opposition. However, I believe that humans often benefit from trying new things and opening their minds and hearts to these experiences. A couple of weeks ago a gave my family a hug before heading to a weekend retreat without having any idea of what it was about. I will not go into the details to avoid any thoughts of beliefs which we often see in society, but I think that the experience was a great way to get perspectives to many things in life, including our need to often slow down and continue to appreciate our capabilities as people of thoughts and freewill (mostly).

As I had been so busy at work due to my new role, I really had not prepared for the weekend at all. I never sat with the person who suggested to participate nor did I research anything online about the experience. I think that was the best thing to do as it all came as a surprised and while it was not the best approach given my introverted ways, it did test my latest social expansions to learn how to meet new people and interact. I was able to leave the weekend with a couple of new acquaintances as the group activities helped get to know one another. However, I am quite hesitant to call everyone friends as it takes more than a weekend for me to consider them that. Ironically, I never spoke with my roommate as I would be so tired after the sessions that I would immediately go to sleep and wake up early for a run before the next day had started.

One of the best parts of the weekend was the fact that there were sessions dedicated to a sort of meditation. The meaning was interesting but the ability to clear my mind for a time was relatively new to me as I normally have my mind racing a 100 miles per hour as I am often thinking about what is next on my to do list. While I could have done the same then, I thought I owed it to myself to go through the experience. It was one of the first times I had my eyes closed for more than 5 minutes while not sleeping. It got so quiet that I could here my breathing and the muscles of my body contract to move. It was a interesting experience as it led me to think about my life and after hearing some stories that weekend, to give even more thanks and gratitude for all I have in terms of those who surround me and my health.

Of course, my thoughts came to rest on Steem and the feeling of opportunity that continues to fill my mind when I think about the community and the ecosystem we are all a part of. It feels as if Steem was presented to me to take my life one step forward in spreading opportunity and goodness. I has always wanted to be more philanthropic in a sign of appreciation of what I have and feel that the Steem protocol allows me to do so while also growing and having potential to change my life. The fact that we can share our stakes and influence across communities and projects is a great opportunity to give back.

There are so many opportunities here to help and give back that I have tried to more actively engage with some communities to support by upvoting. I feel as if we can all do more and provide real life solutions to communities with needs. Of course, we must always be careful with those that have a front to do good when the reality is another. This is why I think blockchain technology could be transformative in the Charitable and Non-Profit sector. The ability to have the transparency to see the transactions in an immutable nature will help is keep those organizations more accountable for their actions and efforts. I often read how aide efforts to major catastrophes like the Haiti earthquake of years ago never made their impact despite the millions of billions of dollars sent and I am saddened how these human efforts have only reach those in needs for pennies on the dollars contributed. Blockchain can change that and given our social focus, Steem can as well. I hope that the increase in adoption and the continued growth can attract more developers to broaden our reach in society.

New experiences are always an opportunity to learn new opportunities. While I was glad to be back home afterwards, I had a gained perspective of acting on what we have now and not waiting for “a better time” to act upon opportunities. I feel that Steem is that opportunity and that with effort, it can provide me a new path to share and contribute to society. Thanks for all those who make this journey enjoyable and interesting!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

Join the FreedomEx Exchange Platform to trade token with your Steem-based currencies!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

I often read how aide efforts to major catastrophes like the Haiti earthquake of years ago never made their impact despite the millions of billions of dollars sent

It happened a little in my country... we had huge fires and more then 100 people died in those fires, the whole country sent money to help out. Well, only a portion of the money actually got delivered.

I can't believe how some people actually profit out of other's disgrace and misfortunes, I can profit out of many things, I see possible revenue in everything, but there is a line that I'll never cross, profiting out of other's misfortunes... how can a person be so rotten inside to actually take away food, shelter, money from people that need it?! Bunch of sociopaths if you ask me...

Agreed! That is why blockchain creates a great opportunity to make those accountable for their actions and adds transparency.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Always great to see personal development forward!

Always strive to improve!

Posted using Partiko iOS

it seems like you’ve been really busy this year with work base on what I’ve read form past post. taking a break is good its refreshing

It has been crazy but am grateful for it as an opportunity to grow!

Posted using Partiko iOS

life is crazy, but form the chaos comes order

Hi @newageinv nice write buddy. Life is full of surprises and new experiences are the best opportunity to learn new things. Have a nice weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Learning is always great!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I am happy to hear that you benefited from your weekend retreat. Maybe next time you can go for a longer one. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68225.97
ETH 3275.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66