Woke up to 100% VP!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2019-08-26 at 7.51.40 PM.png

Happy Fork Day!

I knew things would change today but I was surprised to wake up to having 100% of my Voting Power available! It was still before the Hard Fork so I was surprised given the amount of auto-votes I have continually added in addition to curating as much as I can before calling it a night every day. I have also been increasing the amount of the weight I put on my votes on comments to ensure that they pass the dust threshold which is something I have to consider changing again with the new Hard Fork 21 guidelines.

I believe that it definitely had to do with some preparation and slowdown from content creation in anticipation of the Hard Fork. However, I immediately got to manually curate in order to distribute rewards as if we fail to do so I see it as an opportunity cost for both ourselves and the deserving community of curators and content creators. I never have to be reminded that this systematic ways of distributing the reward pools is not only free for us but it also allow use to get more from the pool considering the curation rewards.

Now that the Hard Fork 21 is live, this takes an even more relevant meaning as the amount of rewards for curators will improve even more. In fact, I believe that curators are the most benefited group of users from these changes. While I can find thoughts that make that troubling to believe, I also believe that it will be a fact that could start to drive more engagement. I rarely provide an upvote without making an engaging comment on the post as it is a lost opportunity to interact and provide thanks or feedback to the author. Now that it provides me an opportunity to grow my wallet, I will be looking forward to even more engagement in the comments section which are often the place to really see great content and thoughts.

While prices have remained low, the fact that we can still individually distribute value by upvoting and using out Voting Power is a great opportunity to demonstrate to those projects and developers that we can leverage the technology to build here. Even for the social aspect it is amazing as being able to personally distribute about $2 a day without it costing me anything is incredible. I am sure there are places in the world that could benefit from this type of value; understanding that the infrastructure is still not there yet to leverage the potential. However, it could be a catalyst to build that foundation.

I am looking forward to seeing how I put this Voting Power to work and also see how others are doing the same. It will surely change the behavior of many of us here as we continue this journey to learn to be an early adopter in the technology that feels like the future given its potential to change the world. I am even planning some time to review my delegation and take control of some more as I have seen that some communities have slowly disappeared or significantly reduced their engagement. Those are additional opportunities that we must allocate properly to ensure that value creation is maximized across the ecosystem and community!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Hopefully this will improve some curation rewards for you!

Trying different upvote weights to see the difference in values is interesting right now. Hoping my upvotes do not turn to dust for those who engage!

I don't want to brag or anything but after I powered up my steem and now have 100% voting power my up vote stand at a cool $0.01

So yeah, think I will go paint the Steem Block chain red with my pennies tonight.

Awesome! I remember how proud I was when finally able to give $0.01 upvote! Enjoy the upvote spree and its curation rewards!

Let's hope that with this fork we fixed the PoB, it's hard to tell so soon, but I've seen much enthusiasm from big Steemians for the downvote pool, bad content might finally get downvoted to hell as it should. And now curation is incentivized a lot more, maybe the voting will be spread even more... at least I hope that's what happens, we have the machine running we just need to oil it up before it can move at fast speeds.

It is definitely too early to come to conclusions but my list of concerns is longer than those that I am happy with.

Hey, @newageinv.

I think the reward pool count went up, like it did last fork, so we'll probably see a gradual decrease again in the VP amounts, until the STEEM value goes up.

Anyway, don't want to rain on the parade. Just throwing out a possibility. :)

I think the sources of information like SteemWorld have some adjustments to do after as this continues through. I am upvoting comments but they seem to be falling below the dust threshold!

Hey, @newageinv.

Yeah, so there might be some adjustments to be made on steemworld regarding the curation rewards actual amount, but the issue with the dust threshold is, we've got a non-linear curve to begin with, so it needs to hit a certain amount, or it won't make it up the hill. :) I'm not sure what that is, but it must be greater than 0.02 STEEM now, because those are no longer valid.

Yeah I saw this as well. I voted for a post and was like "wow, that's higher than usual." My vote isnt worth much but I definitely noticed that change.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hopefully, we get more clarity as we learn more about our behaviors!

Yeah as soon as I saw that I started curating too. I don’t know I’ve ever let myself get to 100% before since I have auto votes.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just saw I was once again at 100%. Definitely weird as I have seen Autovotes come through.

I’m not sure I’d trust it. I just discovered the platform was telling me a different upvote value than it was actually giving. Which means not everything is updated accurately. SP not moving could indicate another one.

I am looking forward on how this really unfold as time goes on I must say

We will see soon enough!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.651 which ranks you at #1767 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 43 places in the last three days (old rank 1810).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 128 contributions, your post is ranked at #62.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41