You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chrome Devices in Education and the Login Conundrum

in #busy5 years ago

I have a problem with Google. It builds a profile of you and then adjusts your search results to fit that profile. When I'm doing an online search, I want to get as broad a range of results as possible, not the results that Google's algorithms think I might be interested in.
Several years ago I began to realise that my search results on Google were really poor, and I looked up the profile it had on me. It seemed to think I was a 65-year-old man. I think this was because I went through a phase of looking at 1940s jazz videos on YouTube! It explains why I kept getting ads for "Tena Men", a range of incontinence pads for men!
I didn't bother to enlighten Google. Instead I started using Startpage as my main search engine. I'm not sure if this is possible on a Chromebook. I have an Android tablet, and Google is always the default search engine.
So while I think it's good for young kids to learn how to keep a password, I'm not a big fan of logging on and having an online profile built around me. For that reason again, I only use the old versions of Microsoft Word - the current version can only be used with an online connection. That seems crazy to me for a word-processing platform.
I do log in to various online platforms, but I try not to share too much detail about myself online.

Sort:  

There are laws such as COPPA and FERPA that Google has to adhere to for their education products. The kind of stuff you are talking about doesn't happen on Gsuite like it does on their consumer offerings. I understand where you are coming from though.

I've never heard of those laws! But that sounds positive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38