Garage sale preparations

in #busy6 years ago

20180605_164342.jpg

I knew I had stuff. But I surprised myself with things I had forgotten. Doing pretty good, only salvaged 3 items and moved to "not for sale pile"

See anything you like? We have your enamel ware, salt and pepper shakers, collectible vases and miscellaneous stuff.

20180605_164133.jpg

20180605_164120.jpg

Some valuable stuff. Been pricing based on internet searches. We got lucky picking up odds and ends over the years.

No clue when we got the Harker Ware Pottery Teapot but it lists for $44 now. Darn sure I didn't pay that.

20180605_182647.jpg

This is only the beginning of the project. We'll see what else I find. Keep watching.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nananini! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I'm at my parents home in Alabama this week but I thought you might like a couple of pictures of the things Mom picked up over her life (she passed away a little over a year ago).

Here's a collection of Iris Depression or Carnival Glass (I think she started this collection when they use to place a glass in bags of cornmeal she bought from the grocery):

DSCN1476.JPG

And these guys I never got an explanation why they had them in their home. Mom and Dad lived through some very racist times in Alabama and took a lot of it to heart but still Mom liked these three kids:

DSCN1475.JPG

Mom and Dad both got better with the racism as they got older, Mom more so than Dad. We're still working on Dad but it's hard to teach an 86 year old man new things. Especially one that is almost deaf and still uses selective hearing.

Awwww. How thoughtful of you to share.

Your mother had taste! But cornmeal? All I recall is cheap glasses in the Tide box.

The display is breathtaking. (Freaking awesome didn't seem appropriate)

And anyone would love those three children.

My mom wasn't overly open minded. Dad was pretty fair. We kept most of that at home. Tolerance was mostly what they taught.

Hope you are enjoying your visit with Dad. Again, very thoughtful.

It could have been Tide boxes, but I thought it was either cornmeal or flour. There were six of us and we had either cornbread or biscuits for almost every meal so we went through a great deal of both. I do remember cloth bags of something with wash clothes sown in where you opened it also.

Mom really started her collection when she had all these glasses and started seeing prices for them at yard sales. All of us kids had days that we washed the dishes and sadly, several of the pieces were broken during the washing.

Remember a couple of months ago I told you I had been thinking about death lately? That was around the first anniversary of my Mom's death. She was buried on her 82nd birthday right before Mother's Day. I figure that will be a tough time of the year for me for awhile.

Quite sure it could have been cornmeal. I just don't recall anything before the detergent/gas station/grocery store promotional give away fad.

S & H Green stamps! Books and books of green stamps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87