HOW TO SAVE OVER 50% ON YOUR DAILY FOOD BILL. UK FOOD HACK.

in #busy5 years ago

B06DF8B8-FC72-40CB-951D-C5BBF18B95A6.jpeg

My three favourite words are food, cheap, and free. For the entirety of my adult life I have always lived as frugal as possible and in many ways it’s always been a challenge. If it’s the end of a working day it’s easy to spend £30 on an evening shop without thinking, and usually when shopping in that mode the food only covers two meals at best. So back when I was at university I got into the habit of planning every week meticulously in order to save and it’s a habit that has stuck. So in this post I’m going to show my fellow steemonians in the UK the in’s and outs of shaving 50% or more off their weekly shop.

Here in the U.K all of our major food retailers have a mark down policy on food that is going out of date. On the day a product does go out of date it’s marked down gradually through the day until the last minute when they take 60% or more off the product. All U.K food retailers do this at a set time as a policy across the country. So below I’m going to list the retailers, the time they mark their food products down, and the Sunday time tables for this as well.

If you are like me and own a large freezer shopping at these times can save you loads. But even if you don’t own a means of storage that’s large the options for jarring, making preserves, and salt curing meats such as pork are always available. I do it all the time.

image.jpeg

So Tesco is one of my favourites. Just last month they brought all their stores over to a policy of having the final mark downs for the day out by 7:00 pm. I tend to show up at 6:45 as I don’t mind waiting around for over 50% off my shop. One of the things I’ve noticed is most people go for the sweets and junk food. The intro pictured on this post was food from my freezer from these guys. Fish, fruit, and vegetables are always easy grabs.

Oh, and if you don’t want to compete with the other bargain hunters at the big retailers then head to their metros. For the non Brits reading this our metros are basically big retailers miniature shops made to cater to residential or crowded city areas. Sunday hours for clearances are at 3:00 for these guys.

image.jpeg

ASDA (owned by Walmart) is a tricky one. I’ve had luck at around 6:00 for their large mark downs, but have also found shops in different locations mark down their clearance closer to 7:00 pm. Their Sunday’s are a bit hectic and it’s sort of like playing rugby to grab a bargain. Most of their shops have everything marked down by 3:15 on Sunday in my experience. So if it’s 3 o’clock on a Sunday and you have an hour to kill popping in doesn’t hurt.

image.jpeg

So M&S is one of our more expensive high street chains. The food is excellent quality though I can’t remember when I last paid full price for food with these guys. Most high street shops start their mark downs around 4:00 pm. On Sundays it’s around 3:00.

The best time to hit this store for mark downs is after a major holiday. I.e. Christmas and Easter. I managed to get a large ham and a large turkey for under £12 last year from these guys. I followed up by going to Tesco at half six and walked out with several freezable Christmas party platters with loads of veggies as well. So popping in and milling around after work or on a Sunday won’t steer you wrong when trying to save a few bob.

image.png

So Waitrose markdowns on weekdays always start at 6:00 pm in my experience. Sunday’s at 2:45 to 3:00 pm. These guys are my favourite for deli and meat products and I normally shoot straight to the cheese or meat counter at the back. It’s less hectic than competing around the floor item mark downs and grabbing aged cheddar, cured meats, and prime cuts at 60% off is usually a sure thing.... oh.. being polite and making friends with the folks behind the counter is a must. They deal with rude snooty people all day so good manners and simple conversation goes a long way.

image.jpeg

So it’s always a gong show for me at my nearest Sainsbury’s. They do their mark downs around 7:00 at my local store and the locals over there are competitive. But there smaller local stores have always been relatively easy. On Sunday’s you can catch their mark downs at 3:00. I’ve done ok out of them but they aren’t my preference for cheap healthy food.

Well guys that’s it for now. This was just a quick post covering how to shave half or over off your weekly food bill. It’s a great habit to get into and with a bit of proper planning you really notice a difference by the end of the month. The pumpkin seeds pictured above I got from Tesco and in my next post I’m going to show you guys how to make a tasty alternative to peanut butter with them.

A159739D-FE3D-40D2-ADD2-C1B0DA1F893B.jpeg

Thank you so much for reading and looking forward to checking out all your posts and projects. Steem on. :)

Image credits:
Sainsbury’s.
Asda.
Waitrose.
Tesco
Marks and Spencer’s
My kitchen

Sort:  

Hey thanks for the timings. Tesco is my local, and it just so happens I'll be passing by there around 19.00 for the next few days so I will be sure to check them out over the next few days.

NB if you're anywhere near Leicester, there's a 'steem camp' happening this Saturday - an unconference with other steemians, be good if you could make it!

Karl.

Thanks for the invite. Sadly I’m down in the Southwest otherwise I’d love that sort of thing. If your hitting the Tesco they tend to grab all the clearances and move them out back to tag them with the mark downs and then bring them all out at once after so their not dealing with folks grabbing over the items. So if you walk by the section where all the mark downs are and it’s completely empty, just ask a staff member and they’ll let you know when they are popping them out. Sometimes it takes them around 15 to 20 minutes to tag everything for the shelf if there’s a lot going out of date. But they do bung it all in one spot and their policy is for 7:00 but you may want to budget time to mill around a bit before and after. Thank you so much for giving the post a read and best of luck on the bargain hunt. :)

Cheers - I've also just thought that I do tend to disappear into a post dinner Netflix black hole in the evening so a 30 min round trip the supermarkets a couple of evenings a week would help kill that too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aahh.. Now I know why some people live to read the 50% discount anywhere in the world 😊 but I never knew that it's an interesting activity to do 😊 maybe because I bought anything from the traditional market or the vegetable seller who passes by in front of my gate.

It's always interesting to know something new like this @mudcat36 😊 thanks for sharing. It's just amazing that you can get 50% off on any goods

Thanks for giving it a read. :)

love the tips even though I don't live in the UK, I keep an eye for special items towards the end of the day at the supermarkets :)

Thank you so much for giving it a look. It is a great habit to get into. I made my way through uni without any student debt weighing me down so watching every penny alongside working my back side off was a must. Nowadays I just enjoy saving and I find I eat healthier as well. Again thank you so much for giving my little write up a look and the support. :)

Graduating uni without any student debt is pretty commendable.
#sbi-skip


You just planted 0.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @ucukertz

We have planted already
7493.57 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 21136.86
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72