EOS KNIGHTS. HOW TO START PLAYING THIS BLOCK CHAIN GAME AND WHAT MISTAKES I'VE MADE YOU CAN AVOID.

in #busy5 years ago

We all know Steem Monsters is a great way to kill time. Since @davemccoy got me into the game it's become a staple in my daily online routine. But the crypto gaming space is growing quick and one game that is a must play is EOS Knights. So in this post I'm going to cover what I've learned so far in regards to playing this game as well as what mistakes I've made.

GETTING STARTED.

So to start you need an EOS wallet that works with the game. I use Scatter and it works a treat. I have the game running all the time in the background and manage to play a lot on having staked just 15 EOS. For those of you who aren't familiar with the EOS network, just think of staked EOS in the same way as you think about Steem Power. Roughly the same concept. You do need bandwidth to play as every interaction with the game is essentially a transaction.

THE GAMES ITSELF

So in the game you have three characters. A knight, archer, and a mage. They have to battle their way up through a number of floors and levels and as they climb higher you are able to up their levels which in turn enables them to go further. As their life drains fighting goblins you have the chance to "rebirth" them which then provides you with material that the slain goblins have dropped. The material is then used to craft items to equip your characters with.

This game doesn't require a great deal of attention in truth. I leave my characters running in the background through out the day. When they die or seem like they are getting close to I hit rebirth. It is best to leave it until the last possible second as the more goblins they kill the better the material that's dropped for you to collect. Collecting material, crafting items, climbing floors, and beating dungeon levels are really what this game is about.

WHERE I MADE MISTAKES

In the game there is a market where you can buy and sell items you have crafted. You have a set number of items you can hold and the choice to increase the number of items you can hold for 0.1 EOS. I naturally didn't figure this out until I had played for a while. But if you are just starting with a little EOS to spend to set your characters up and intend to sell items as they outgrow them then expanding what you hold is important. From my gaming experience I can't recommend expanding storage strongly enough.

Another huge mistake I made was getting ahead of myself. I bought items when my players were new and started synthesizing them. This is essentially when you combine the same items to increase their strength. Well once my players hit level 8 and I was able to equip them with really cool items, I had these clunky young level items that I just wasn't going to get what I paid for them back. So a little bit of patience does pay off.

Another massive mistake I made was I didn't start out with enough magic water. Basically magic water is awarded when you dispose of items or use your pets (magical companions to your characters) to go on quests. But magic water is essential for leveling up your characters or items. You can also earn it by referrals. By the way anyone who wants to use me as the guy who referred them my EOS Knights name is mudcatmudcat....... just in case. ;) But if I could turn back time I would have stocked up on more magic water.

MAKING MONEY WITH EOS KNIGHTS

This game is in extremely early days. Unlike Steem Monsters it doesn't require constant attention. It almost has a Clash of Clans feel in regards to checking back in on your characters and seeing how things are going. But some of the items on the games market do sell for reasonable amounts and many people are playing it and making money. Though I am guessing many went in strong with EOS to invest. All in all I've put 16'ish EOS into the game and made 0.1 back. However I am only just coming up to a point where my characters levels are high enough to gain interesting items through winning good material. I don't think you will get rich, but with a little patience you can play an enjoyable game and get the odd kick back in EOS.

All in all I really like EOS Knights. I find that I can play Steem Monsters with it running in another tab and when I get bored with one bounce over to the other. The mobile version is available in the app store, but I prefer playing on my laptop. But as far as games on the block chain go I do think EOS Knights shows promise.

Well guys that's it for now. If you are an EOS holder this isn't a bad dapp to play with and is relatively straightforward. I figured I'd create a post covering where I think I have gone wrong starting out in hopes of helping others enjoy the game more. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my humble little write up, and best of luck with your posts and projects.

image credits:
state of the dapps
medium
decenter
eosknights.io
sludgefeed

Sort:  

Upgrading lvl on legendary items is ridiculously expensive. Saving up 8k to get lvl 4 now.

🎁 Dear @mightypanda,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

Here here. Oh, and sorry you just got spammed in my post comments. Dunno why folks pushing steem bet think that's a polite way forward. ho hum. Thanks for giving the post a read and best of luck in the game.:)

nice review.. im playing eos knight too, a very good grinding game.
but im still at level 7.
haha

Thanks for giving it a read. :)
It is a great grinding game. Couldn’t put it better myself. I’m up around the level 10 marker atm but waiting to wing more smart water from trashed items to up my players. I think EOS Knights and Steem Monsters are definitely going to be my long haul games of choice though. And hey... you never know.. EOS could pass the moon and head to Mars someday so we could all be laughing from winning the odd 0.1 Lol. Thanks again for giving the post a look and best of luck in the game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65