Sort:  

I do not think in my times visiting London. Ever noticed these long straight roads, even though I may welll have been driving along them at some rage I probably was looking out te side window and did not notice them.

I have seen many buildings converted to apartments even an led fire station but i do not think I have ever seen a church converted that must be pretty cool to live in and i imagine expensive.
Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Hi Jay, most people visiting London are interested in the buildings of course and the City of London was rebuilt after the great fire of London on the foundations of the old medieval street layout because no one could agree on any new plan.

That's why it is all higgledy piggledy in the centre of town.

The Roman roads are like spokes on a wheel and were almost dead straight for hundreds of miles.

The Roman roads predate the medieval period and have been in use all this time but most people don't notice them.

Glad you liked it. 😋

I did of course do the touristy bit around LOndon on one of my visits there and with the Wife who is British, but most times i went there was to watch The all Blacks ( the NEw Zealand Rugby Team) play i would catch he game and then as soon as my hungover cleared the next morning head out into countryside areas

Yes I remember reading about the development of London over the top of the old Medieval layout

Yeah they people that owned the burnt down properties were very distrustful of the planners ideas and rejected them.

The St Pauls cathedral precinct was the exception but even that had lots of problems getting built.

the New Zealand Rugby Team)

Possible the best team in the world imo. The haka always cheers me up 🙌

I didnt know about the distrust of the city planners that is new to me

and as for the all Blacks, I think statistically they are the best team in the world in any sport, I saw that in a recent documentary on a NEw channel here

Yeah, the people wanted their old properties to be the same footprint size as their old property.

New road layouts were proposed snd largely rejected.

I can believe that about the All Blacks. They are an amazing team year after year.

People are so change resistant at times the whole world over so it does not really surprise me,
The All Blacks had a bad year well by our standards, stayed a number one but lost a couple of games, but I think that may have been the best a couple of losses gets rid of complacency which is good heading to the World Cup late this year

That is really interesting. Of course your roads are so much older than ours, but most of our earliest roads were military roads built on top of old Indian trails. I was told that even our interstate highway system was designed for troop movement and that is why the exits and entrances are limited. The highways can be easily shut down to the public if it is necessary. So many things we don't think about as we drive along.

It is surprising when you think about it. I travelled across the USA from New York to L.A. and did notice how straight the roads were.

Interesting that they followed the old Indian trails too.

This below seems ominous when you think about it. Why would they still be thinking this way in the modern age?

our interstate highway system was designed for troop movement and that is why the exits and entrances are limited. The highways can be easily shut down to the public if it is necessary.

I can understand the need to move troops fast to repeal invaders but are they also expecting to have to subdue their own people?

Fascinating thought.

Construction of the National Interstate and Defense Highways began in the 1950s and were considered essential to national defense. The were also seen as a way to quickly evacuate cities if it was necessary. Most people see them as a way to get to their vacation spot.

New York to LA is a long drive!

It was a very long trip on several Greyhound buses. I got this ticket where you could go anywhere as long as you kept heading west. It was brilliant.

My first stop was Albany in upstate NY and then Buffalo to see long lost family. I've still got the marked up map of the trip.

I mean to write it up someday!

Wish I would have known you then! You could have stopped in here.

That would have been fun. I met so many wonderful down to earth people on that trip.

I met the real Americans not the stuff that dominates the mass media but the real deal. Genuinely friendly and very interesting people.

Just like anywhere you go in the world as a traveler rather than as a tourist.

O the stories I could tell lol All good wholesome stuff of course.

I never knew all this and I've lived in London so many years!

Glad to be of service. London is a treasure trove of fascinating things.

You just have to know where to look. 😋

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=molometer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=strait-outta-london-roman-roads-rule-britannia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 527.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Nice history lesson in Merry Old England :-)

We have a lot of that over here. 😂😂

Howdy sir molometer! That road was the perfect fit and solution for so many tasks. Very interesting stuff here but then obviously I love history. lol. I didn't know they were turning churches into apartments, that's startling.

I didn't know they were turning churches into apartments, that's startling.

Yep, religion has died a death here and 100's of churches have been sold off as well as 1,000's of pubs too!

We live in interesting times.

pubs? why would the pubs be going out of business? I thought they would be the last things to go out of business!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40