You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is a Roof Thatcher? #SublimeSunday

in #busy5 years ago

You would think that the insurance companies would require them to coat it with a fire retardent spray

Today they do and they are. Even though thatch roofs were banned in London in 1212 BCE it didn't stop the Great fire of London in 1666. The vast majority of buildings then were made of wood.

The buildings that survived the great fire were mostly banks and churches... which were made of stone!

Sort:  

Okay thanks sir molometer, that makes sense. I've never seen a thatch roof and as far as I know there aren't any over here so it's a very fascinating roof material. I suppose there are growers who grow specific type of grass or plant for that? I don't even know what the thatch is made of!

The most common plants for thatch in the Uk were/are water reeds or barley straw although you can used just about anything including bullrushes and palm fronds in the right climate.

I seem to recall that that some of the tribes used thatch where you are?

howdy again sir molometer! Thanks for the information and yes the Apache in Texas used to make thatch huts. I'm not sure what kind of grass.
o46kot2iex.jpg

Isn't that too cool. I've seen them in that game I mentioned on another comment. Good idea to know this stuff.
Never know when we might need to build one. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36