Ever visited a 700 year old bookstore? I did...

in #busy7 years ago

As you might know from one of my earlier posts, I'm currently living in a tiny village in the far south of the Netherlands. However, before I moved there I was living in a city called Maastricht. This is also in the southernmost part of the Netherlands. It is located at the Meuse river (Maas in Dutch, hence the name Maastricht). I will keep a more detailed story on Maastricht reserved for a future post.

What I would like to share with you, however, is a very cool bookstore located in Maastricht. It is arguably one of the most beautiful bookstores in the world (see for example this list). It is located in a centuries-old church.

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 18.30.16.pngImage source: sigids.nl

Nine out of ten times, when I had visitors over or when I was just wondering the city, I would peek in. Even for a coffee you could check it out, since it has a little coffee boutique in the back of the church. It is located exactly where the altar used to be, as can be seen in the bottom of the picture below.

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 18.27.22.pngImage source: www.ruimtesinbeeld.nl

Although old and faded, there are still some tombstones and wall paintings left from the old days.
Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 18.27.30.pngImage source: www.ruimtesinbeeld.nl
Another shot of the interior:

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 18.27.38.pngImage source: www.ruimtesinbeeld.nl

Anyways, it is really a beautiful place! If you are ever in the area, you should definitely check it out! Maastricht is roughly a 1.5-hour drive from Dusseldorf, Brussels or Cologne! And apart from the bookstore, the city has a lot to offer on architecture, history, dining, and drinks! But more on that in a later post!

Sort:  

wow this is a bookstore right out of a Harry Potter novel!

Pretty sweet huh! Worth visiting if you are ever in the area

I would definitely visit!!

I love old book stores .. the older the better

Well in this case its mostly the building thats old :)

Echt super mooi wij sparen oude boeken met leren kaft of bijbels maar zijn ook zeer geintresseerd in All kind off books dus die boekwinkel ga ik zeker een keer bekijken!

Ah cool, ik ben zelf altijd op zoek naar oude wetenschappelijke boeken. Probeer een soort van verzameling op te bouwen! Als je in maastricht bent, zeker een kijkje nemen, ze zijn ook op zondag open ;p

Wow! You know I love books! This place looks insanely beautiful, love the building.
If I ever visit your city, you have to take me here too!

Yeah its pretty cool indeed! They also have really nice collection of (international) books. If you’re ever in NL let me know! Thanks for your support!

a beautiful city and worth a visit, full of knowledge @susanne I like it

Previously I apologize if commented, because it does not match the topic. But I am sure you are a good and caring person, I am very sure you are too great person of course, I am very motivated with you @susanne
You love to travel, on the way you meet abandoned children, I am sure you are a caring, loving and loving person that children can smile at children, it will be nice even though the valentine moment has passed. I am sure you will want to be discouraged, if you do not mind visit my bloq, i hope you can give input to my writing and direct me @susanne
Thanks you ao much

Give a little smile (Save the children)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83