You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem, The Experiment.. New Questions

in #busy6 years ago

I don't normally link to my own posts but on the subject of apps not having a business model I posted a 'funny' meme in response to seeing yet another dapp requesting delegation. Here

Some people I know thought I was being unfair on discord but I am glad to know that I'm that respect I was pretty spot on :0)

I still have hope for Steemit though!

Sort:  

I don't really get your point in that post. These services don't need SP, they need delegation so that the users reward the service for what it brings and the service must use the delegated SP somehow to actually make some money. But yeah, why not make free services buy their own SP on top of it, right?

But I somehow get your point. On the other hand, we are using delegation on @steveapp currently to help users fund and support the service (under @steevebot), which I think is legit. With delegation you at least have to be somehow creative.

What I like less is this "I am doing this great thing for the community, so vote for me as a witness". Like, I don't get this whole point that being a witness should reward you for anything else than being a witness. Ok, during good times, why not to support a project by delegating what you make as a witness, but otherwise it can really easily point to just having zero idea how to make actual money and value and you can just hype people, get to be a witness, problem solves. Even though getting to be a witness is not easy and it costs something, it is for me somehow the easy way, because really you don't have to be creative in any way. Just give me your money and I will use it to fund myself, whatever I am doing. And by definition such services cannot bring people that would buy into Steem, because they are not going to charge anybody since they are well off with being a witness.

But then of course, the reality is not black and white and some handy services have simply no way how to make money. Like I don't know, you decide to make another SteemConnect, you want to fund it with a witness. Or you have to make it a paid service. Which is also legit.

The fact is still that it is probably just SteemMonsters that makes sense in the way that it can make people buy Steem. Others are just about getting a part of the inflation pool, which is just like and infinite circle. Let's get paid with what we generate for nothing for ourselves :-)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Delegation is SP? Just not SP that you own permanently.

My point was simply that at that time my feed was cluttered with service after service requesting delegation.

The delegation that I don't like, is not so much the delegation from users, hell, if you like a project why not support it. No, the delegation I don't like so much is the one that is implicitly sought from Mr delegation. You know, the Biggie.

Which again is fair enough, but it is not a sustainable business model to rely on something which can be taken away at any time. I would much rather see these apps have a business model. Something which ultimately meant they were independent of Steemit Inc.

And I wholeheartedly agree on the witness thing :0)

I have hope for STEEM, not so much Steemit and its leader

Definite hope for steem, for me I think the two are so intrinsically tied now that I fear one without the other does not bode well. If this project had been like Eos (which I think sucks ass but that's another story) and created the Blockchain with no front end then invited app development it could have worked but it didn't and now having had a beta then throwing it away in favour of a bunch of fragmented apps sends the wrong message out to the world.

It might be the only way forward but it's all about perception.

I do hope I am wrong though.

I'm not hopeless, not at all, just working through some thoughts and feelings.

Oh I know, I got that and well reasoned too :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72