You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Hiveminds (Communities) Kill Paid Bots????

in #busy6 years ago

Interesting analogy on using a river to describe Steem and the influx of posts as driftwood. I had to laugh at the driftwood on steriods metaphor as I imagined how it looked like all muscled up.

As a beginner before and having now a lot of people I follow yet so when I have nothing else new in my following feed I go to the trending to check what constitutes good content here and know what I found a truckload of crap.

Of a woman enjoying a meal somewhere, of an ICO that is surely a scam, of one photo and not even any accompanying text. I thought to myself what sorcery is this??? who's balls needed to get fondled for this crap. I didn't know bots then.

Upon learning about bots I vehemently disapproved of them and although now I have changed my mind on them and see it as a tool to promote your post and get more eyes after that initial posting.

The hivemind with its community feature might well change that as there will be moderators and the others of community might aid people from ignoring or downright not seeing a post done in bad taste.

I am afraid of moderators though because even in Reddit and Subreddit there are people who had the power get into their heads so I am interested how we can prevent that.

Also what if you wanted to see something different from what you normally read how will that happen. I am not a technical person so a lot of the github was gibberish to me but I just have to wait and see.

I'm pretty interested as well how it will affect the discord communities.

Sort:  

We are on the same page. I also did start with the idea that's bots are a plague but changed my mind to neutral!
A moderator is a dangerous thing, because on of the power of Steemit was that had no censorship! And moderators are some kind of censorship! While we should trust them and they should be neutral, they are only humans with bad and good days, with favorite members and members who they dislike!

Yeah I am neutral with them as well as I see the need for it for investors but also see the need for it to reign in a bit.

they are only humans with bad and good days, with favorite members and members who they dislike!

I completely agree with this statement and I have seen how some powers corrupt moderators and they censor things that they don't like or agree on and even kicking people they don't like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14