Sort:  

I guess that is the first step, and if I was the only one involved I would say, raise the price of steem.

But I think that is a conversation that very much needs to be had.

mmmmm ... I see, but if the goal is to raise the price, the reason why we want to raise it is to obtain profits when selling it, and that in turn causes the price to go down. So in some way that is an goal that automatically predisposes us to fail. Or am I wrong?

Steem's a cryptocurrency. It's meant to be used. The reward pool has a 50/50 option for a reason: we save a bit, we use a bit. I for one often rely on my earnings to spend on things I need. I also power up a lot. If we raise the price, we can do more with our earnings.

Ironically, when the prices go up, people buy in because they see a future. When they're down, people sell because they're scared. If the prices go up, there will be more people trying to buy in, which will in turn raise the price. Yes, people will sell a bit, but maybe it will be at the next ATH that people will start selling again.

I mean, that's markets, right? They always go up, and after that, they always go down before going up again. Right now, we're at the low edge of the previous bottom, if I'm not mistaken (I wasn't here back then), so we need to go up again if we don't want a downtrend to start for the next years.

I think that the question should be how to do it instead of whether we want it to happen or not.

mmmmm ... yes ... but let's not fool ourselves here, at least in a nearby scenario, Steem will not be adopted as a currency, that is far from happening. I do not even know if it was designed for that, Steem is more like an instrument to value the content and thus pay the creators.

If the prices go up, there will be more people trying to buy in, which will in turn raise the price.

If that is true, then why did the Steem price go down?

I think that the question should be how to do it instead of whether we want it to happen or not.

Of course, we all want it to rise, however, for that to happen, ironically that should not be our goal.

Marty (4).gif

I don't see how not setting something as a goal helps us accomplish it.

Posted using Partiko Android

We have to set a goal, but that goal can not be the price.

I think the price is a reflection of the health of the platform to a certain degree. More users equates to a higher price. Ultimately, the goal should be to increase the number of users. I'm not sure you can say that price can't be a goal. Every company's goal is to increase shareholder value. However, how you do it can be important for the long term health of the platform.

I got that.

Posted using Partiko Android

So, maybe we need to create demand. That is why we need to discuss it and hopefully get more people on the same page.

Steemit could do what Scorum did and grant a "pro" badge to everyone above a certain SP level.

And if we had manual curation - which isn't happening - the whales could reward these holders with upvotes.

And actively avoid upvoting at least some of the worst dumpers.

That'd be such an easy thing to do, but I don't see anyone being interested.

It's easier to do vote trading and other such handshake deals and allocate the STEEM to the same hands that fucked it over in the first place. :)

I'll be at Scorum if anyone wants to contact me.

How can the price of steem be raised other than via demand?

We need to go back to the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60005.26
ETH 2409.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43