How To Find Your Place in The World

in #busy7 years ago

main-qimg-3d488a4d0567fc24aad85e93e296d26f-c.jpg

This was me for a very long time — lost.

For a long time, I spent so much time on Facebook, Snapchat and Instagram overdosing on FOMO (Fear of missing out). I was constantly comparing myself to what my friends were doing. Some were getting engaged, some were getting their masters or finishing up medical or law school. I kept thinking that I should be doing these things.

I kept thinking -

“Dang, maybe I should be getting engaged.”

“Maybe I should go back to school.”

“Maybe I should go to another country and teach English”

“Maybe I should get into photography and travel the world and take photos of people”

Then one day, I decided to remove social media to “find myself” and figure out what I really wanted to do. The time that I used to use on social media, was used for figuring out what I really liked and what I wanted to do with my life.

I think, often, we get so caught up in trying to live by everyone’s means of happiness or success or by their life thinking that it would bring us happiness. We think that we have to be married and have life all figured out right after college or right at a certain age, but in reality we don’t. In reality, success and happiness are both relative. What brings you happiness or what you consider successful maybe different from what brings me happiness or what I consider successful. The moment I stopped trying to live my life through other people’s standards and the moment I stopped giving a f*ck about what other people are doing and stopped comparing was the moment I found my place in the world.

Sort:  

Social media should be an means, not an end, at becoming who you are. Followed and Resteemed!

Following you now as well! :D

Very much liked the way you expressed !

Yes I absolutely with you that people are following other people. They forget their individuality. The most you get into the social environment, more you forget yourself.

Followed you for more thoughtful blogs ! Keep writing

Thank you for your kind words. Exactly I think so too -- people have forget their individuality. Hopefully we can help them find their way back to it (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37