Cadillac Deville Restoration Project

in #busy6 years ago

Hello Steemians! Once again it is I, @lostinthewoods!

My family and I bought this Cadillac for $450 as a daily driver for my girlfriend / restoration project.

20180305_121224.jpg

She is a 1993 Cadillac Sedan Deville that my girlfriend has named Cruella Deville.

Apparently working on a Cadillac is complicated and expensive. With that in mind, I would like to make a series of articles outlining the work that I do and how I solve problems that I will no doubt run into. I will include relevant information such as what tools I use, what parts I buy and how much they cost, and any money or time saving tips and tricks that I discover along the way.


For example:
20180302_141033.jpg
The reason you have to use premium gas is because this engine doesn't have a knock sensor and so the computer doesn't adjust the timing in response to knock or detonation. Higher octane fuel is more resistant to the extreme compression inside the cylinder and therefore is less likely to ignite when it's not supposed to. Using regular gas in this engine can potentially be very harmful to the engine, and your wallet!

Please note that though I am mechanically inclined, I am not a mechanic. The information in this series of articles is not meant to be taken as "expert advice", merely my own experience, from one "do it yourself" type person to another.

20180304_165442.jpg

As you can see there is a lot to do here, some of the things that I need to do right away are:

-Replace power steering pump and stop power steering fluid leaks( there are several)
-Flush cooling system and possibly replace radiator
-Clean throttle body and intake and replace intake gaskets(by doing this I will no doubt find a million other issues)
-Inspect steering and suspension and repair as required(I haven't looked at it yet)
-Stop transmission fluid leak
-Inspect and replace brake lines and other braking components
-Inspect and repair vacuum lines and related components
-Body work and paint
And many more I'm sure!

I will be learning as I go and completing repairs as I can afford the parts required so hopefully that means I will be able to release at least one article per month.

The first repairs that need to be done are the power steering and the transmission leak, which will include fluid change and general inspection so stay tuned for those articles soon!

Common Footer.jpg

Sort:  

Have you seen Tavarish's lambo project? Don't show your girlfriend this. lol

Lovely..... Dat a Good idea

what a beautiful car!!! I love it

Now that is going to be a project. Good luck on it!

--S.


My most recent post:

Go Rogue, Post #1: What's the most important thing to you?

500 free charitable coin sign up with ethereum address
https://ColourCoin.org/345304

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73