Stealth camping Mount Royal

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Had a few things to do in Montreal yesterday. Was only staying in Montreal for a night so I decided to try something I'd read about.

IMG_20180902_070138_647.jpg

It's called stealth camping, essentially sleeping somewhere walkable within the city where camping is not permitted.

Screenshot from 2018-09-03 13-13-09.png

Mount Royal is an ideal location being a large area of unpopulated forest in the middle of the city.

IMG_20180902_070429_113.jpg

I walked to the plateau just below the top of Mont Royal. I then went up to a spot on a pretty good incline off the path. This ensures that no one will be getting too close while I'm asleep.

MVIMG_20180902_070209~2.jpg

I heard people several times at night. Some people going to the very top in the middle of the night. Others walking on the plateau below the inclined ground I had set-up on.

It was a thrill spotting these people in the night when I could see them but they couldn't see me.

IMG_20180902_063840.jpg

Of course it's also a bit disconcerting sleeping in a public spot in the open.

My biggest tip related to that is setup late and packup early. I woke up just after 7am and I saw a few morning joggers within minutes of waking up.

IMG_20180902_070646.jpg

I'm looking forward to trying this in some other Canadian cities in the coming months.

Sort:  

Well done. I did something similar two weeks ago. I just walked away from work to a new place I did not know before. I slept away from home and walked back to work the next morning. This little adventure felt like a weekend trip. It was just awesome.

Looks like a sick spot 👍👍🐺

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 69 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17