You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brainstorming Subscription Sinks for SCOT Tokens & Tribes

in #busy5 years ago

Yeah that makes a lot of sense. I thought about how you can further incentivize the delegation side of the spectrum which should lead to more subscription interest. I came up with the idea of diverting a small portion of the inflation pool to specifically be split to delegators. This would allow a baseline return for all delegators. Then the subscription “payouts” would be icing on the cake.

The bid bot model makes a lot of practical sense and I find myself gravitating toward it. I like the idea of venturing out with something like this though. I appreciate your input greatly, thanks for taking the time and let me know if you come up with anything else as well 🙌🏽

Sort:  

Really interesting idea. I do like the idea of just having a base minimum as a "verified author" vs promoting posts which I typically don't bother with.

I do as well. I think that I’m going to run a voting bot in the beginning similar to Minnowsupport and then add in a second account/delegation pool to do a verified author subscription service. It would be cool to also include some sort of tab for “curated content” which could just be content by these verified authors.

Then becoming a verified author could mean that you get some sort of set upvote on your content, but you also get attention and marketing for your content — which is just as important imo.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it probably helped that we had nearly 2 years of community building and delegation built up before we made this switch. We started with a higher base delegation than most might be able to.

I do think this would be a more consistent sink because of the set frequency and size of the fees to be burned, but clay has a point about getting it rolling.

Having an existing community/delegation definitely would help getting off the ground.

I agree on the consistency and I think I’ve landed on the conclusion to start with a bot model similar to minnowsupport (which, fortunately enough, Aggroed released a post just recently that Steem Engine now offers such a service) and add the subscription sink in later. Probably running simultaneous to the voting bot but on a different account. Then you get 2 sinks. The model could run similar to SBI and could also focus more heavily on attention/marketing rather than purely upvoting.

Thanks for your input, I greatly appreciate it :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

The only thing I would consider is limiting the number of auto-votes the account does for the subscription. With any of our auto-vote, we had a lot of spam prevention built-in.

It would serve to make it 1-3 posts/day or maybe even something like 5/week. Inspiring people to try and trigger those votes on their higher quality posts first if possible. Quality over quantity seems to get the better manual curation I think.

That’s a good point. I was thinking 1x a day, but I kind of like that idea of 5x a week to inspire better content. The subscription would also have some stricter rules on content production - probably some general guidelines on length, quality, etc.. If those are violated then the subscription would get terminated and the user would be a new member to the blacklist.

Posted using Partiko iOS

As the originator of our Blacklist, I remember when we as a team decided to add quality requirements to our control of the old free upvote system.

Just be sure to have some fairly clear rules, and still leave room for a 'at our discretion' too. With them paying, you can probably be a bit more loose than we were for the free upvote too.

Ah so you’re well versed in all of this. Thanks for the tips! I’ll definitely let you know if/when I implement all of this!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37