Help Me Improve My Comments Section

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Arrange-boxes.png

Been rather busy lately (again), but I still do read most of the comments and replies, although it does take plenty of time, even moreso when I have to do some vote balancing, including processing my replies. Also, I want to spend a bit more time communicating in other posts. So I would prefer if readers (and saints) help out with the arrangement based on what they think is most valuable and relevant to me and my posts. Please help this bum improve his garden with your eye for great comments!

It's a good way for me to find out those who are somewhat in sync with me. Would be nice to be able to find extensions of myself when it comes to comment curation. By the way, self-voting your own comments to the top is usually a bad move, unless you're confident enough that your comments or replies are on-point, adding to the experience of readers.

This will make life easier at the end of the day, and I honestly will be very happy to go through the comments in a convenient top-down linear fashion and curate your curated comments, before replying to the interesting ones. This is probably not the best way to spend your votes by the way. However, I'll try to make it worthwhile especially if it's consistently good curation by what seems to be a trustworthy account (mainly referring to newer users looking to earn some Steem, but this is open to anyone).

I'd really like to have some virtual assistance in helping form the best value out of my posts on the whole. Readers, especially those coming in after 24 hours taking their time to consume content should feel like they're left with some value (could be simply funny or enlightening, heartfelt, interesting, critical, noteworthy, etc). This is an attempt to discover both expert comment curators and commentators (length of response doesn't matter much) on par with the quality found in popular Reddit posts. I'd gladly accept even if it's an honest negative opinion directed at me, and note that this is more favourable than curating praises.

Here's what I will do: I will only go through my comments section once or twice a day. In the worst case scenario, it will be at least once a week. At the end of April, I will by myself determine three (3) best performing accounts and start following their votes all the time, at a minimum of 5% voting weight. I would also withdraw my votes at any time within reasonable doubt of dubious activities. Otherwise, there are no strings attached, except to help me a bro out with comment curation.

As my posts are heavy in English, it's natural that the top comments shouldn't be anywhere close to non-English, nor too difficult to read and comprehend. Doesn't have to be perfect language, but you get what I mean. Suggestion: just spend a couple of your votes on the best comments you can find in my posts. Start with my previous post here - Are You a Music Lover? Steem it.

Note: I'll "soon" try to get busy in some Steem development stuff "soon" (see, I used the word "soon" three times now).. so this is also one of my ways to seek out for a personal assistant or two in the "future". Likely to consider witnessing "soon" as well once I'm ready to rock and roll!


Update: Now that I think about, perhaps it's best to only come back to every of my post after perhaps 24 hours instead of coming back to curate myself within 12-24 hours? Seems like crowd curation would work better since my votes would "wreck" the comment curation game if I do it too early.


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Comment Curation? I have never thought of that. I read a lot of comments myself and drop a few whenever possible. To me, the comment section is what add flesh to the post and make it better as it is the sum of other people's opinion on the subject.

When I had some sp delegation, I usually go through the comment section of some post I enjoy and give a few cents to comments that I like for visibility. Now that my sp is low, my upvote cannot push this comments far for visibility but I'll still try to reward at least three thoughtful comments as it relate to the post. So @kevinwong, let's see what we will have out of this.

Lol now I will be honest with you @kevinwong. The reason why many of you who are very interested in getting good comments end up getting trash is because of how you upvote comments . So of you big guys on here just upvote comments few minutes after you post and to be sincere, just like you rightly said, you are big on English and most times people might want to read your post twice to digest it and this might take a bit more time to do. So when they realise you might get to have upvoted in few minutes, they my not bother reading your post fully in a bid to just mumble up a quick comment for you to upvote .

So this is my suggestion...giving this suggestion from what I have seen some do e.g @humanearl and khaleelkazi

Since you don't get to post much, when you make a post, give it a lot more time before you get back to upvote. With that people will get to settle down to read and digest you posts knowing that you would still come back anyways to read through the comment section. Secondly. Like you said, you could also take the time out to go through the comment again just for the late commers who might have been busy with one thing or the other. And finally....after making a post, you could try and ask one or two questions relating to the post you have written for more engagement.

These are the few pieces of advice I will give you since i have seen you are interested in the quality of comments as I have seen this approach work very well for those two guys I mentioned above.

I will also from now on take my time to make good comments on your post since I now know good comments is what you really want.

Do have a lovely day....

Edited....

I forgot to add that most people who are willing to give you good comments might end up not commenting at all when they see a long list of comments and knowing that their "good comments " will be buried under or probably that you have already upvoted so quickly and won't come back to the post to read through the comment section...This is why I feel my suggestions would helo solve the problem and with that, will be able to get all the good comments you want.

You are absolutely right in your conclusions. @kevinwong takes on a great deal of social responsibility in his decision. The number of its subscribers can be compared with the population of a small city. If you compare @kevinwong tasks with the tasks of the mayor, then he needs a whole secretariat to give time to everyone.
Be lenient in your demands. @kevinwong is working for the benefit of society.

Hmm partly agree. I'm kind of a divided objective to just spread out votes to users so I'll do with whatever time I have versus consideration of what constitutes a good response that should be at the top.

I forgot to add that most people who are willing to give you good comments might end up not commenting at all when they see a long list of comments and knowing that their "good comments " will be buried under or probably that you have already upvoted so quickly and won't come back to the post to read through the comment section

I do read back though, although it's true there's a certain fatigue after checking in on the responses multiple times over the lifetime of a post, so yeah this is why i'm reducing the checks and only going for a later digest :) thanks!

Yeah, it's hard not to be in sync with you after so much time.
Probably it's not a bad idea to find an assistant. Even a simple checking of the comment section sometimes consumes a lot of time.

FYI, typo "moreso" should be "more so"
Anyway, I used to even used steemsql to extract comments I've not responded too. Then found some are really wasting bit of bandwidth.
So, now i used the replies tab. First thing like this tells me a comment I have not responded to.

The one I want to respond, click on the time (the one that tells how long ago)

This brings me to the comment directly and it gets displayed in the box (sort of highlighted) and I can reply

I prefer moreso haha.. just like abit and alot sometimes. Oh yeah, sometimes the link seems to bring me directly to the comment but it doesn't seem to do so most of the time.. but that's steemit i guess.

haha... as you wish. another think I forgot to mention, I middle mouse click on the time and it opens a new tab. sometimes, or many times, I end up opening too many tabs. LOL.
And... looks like besides abit, there's also alot :-)

But wasn't your comment section pretty good?
I don't remember a lot of annoying guys there (Except me).

I think whales like you are the only ones who have this kind of problem or concern. Heck if I had more than 5 comments per a post I would likely be upvoting and commenting back to them without hesitation. Maybe except if they were spam ;) Good luck figuring it out. Thanks.

I don't necessarily see curating comments as a solution for organising the comment section only. So not only bigger users should do this, but would love to see this happening throughout the platform.

I think it's also important that users get rewarded for putting a good and thoughtful comment/content out there. That's the whole point of Steemit right?

Probably half. Most don't even bother with the comments..
Anyway, everything starts from home, ie. own posts..

My SP is 200 my upvote is worth .03 and I still get comments of people asking me to upvote them - not too much, just enough to notice.

It’s funny to me because I only get about 10 upvotes per day. I’m not using them on spammers...

I've recently gotten tired of seeing spam comments. I'm sick of "nice post, please upvote me."

Everyone has the power to flag and downvote someone. If they don't contribute anything, don't be afraid to downvote their comment. This is what steemit needs. Ignoring them is a message telling them that they have nothing to lose by posting shitty comments and still have a chance at getting the $0.02 they want. Instead, show them that spamming will be counter productive to what they are trying to achieve.

And of course, upvoting relevant comments should always be encouraged. Money can divide us or unite us. If everyone is so selfish for $0.02, then nobody will read anybody else's comments or posts. This place will turn to shit if that continues.

Oh i do go on downvotes and comment curation every once in a while. But considering there are spams-in-disguise with authors getting big rewards.. so sometimes it feels like i should reserve for something like that instead. But overall I'm not too heavy on downvotes until it knocks on my door lol. I think the major stakeholders (incl steemit team) should take care of the bigger spammers-in-disguise..

They should. We don't need to all try and take out those big spammers in disguise. We can all make a significant change by cleaning this place of all the "nice post, upvote and follow me" nonsense. We don't have to get rid of all the spammers. Start small. @ned @steemit and the various other whales have the power to literally turn the big spammers raping the rewards pool into nothing. There are a bunch of small accounts trying to do the same but are failing. If we can all do the little things that matter, it will build lots of momentum and snowball into something powerful.

Don't forget that also flagging requires some VP. If he has to either upvote or flag all the comments, it'll cost him a lot of VP just to organise his comment section.

I just say though, I feel like the 'nice post upvote me' comments have been reducing lately.

I am not only addressing him. Since this platform is decentralized, I think people need to wake up and realize that there is no central authority that is going to take care of spam. The users are the ones with the power to change this platform for better or worse.

As a result, each one of us has a greater power to contribute. Everyone could contribute in reducing spam by downvoting spam comments. A lot of people are trying to flag people like haejin but most of them don't have the SP to do anything significant. A better idea would be to focus on ridding this platform of shitty accounts because a lot of people do have enough power to flag someones comment to the point where it isn't visible and/or lowers that person's reputation score.

There are initiatives like @cheetah and @steemcleaners, but it is hard to keep up with the amount of spammers.

Steemit is a community driven platform and thus we have to stand up for eachother - but I guess the latter doesn't happen as often as we'd like to and/or we simply do not have enough power to make a difference like you mentioned.

Well, I guess I should leave this open to newcomers, plenty seem to have the drive, let's see how well you all deliver! If for some god forsaken reason you're still in need of some help I guess my schedule is pretty open and I could start doing some shit around the place that appears somewhat passable as far as proving capabilities for whatever is necessary.

Also, rofl @ the SHM hate, seems like giant stage house hasn't died down a bit from a quick look at what's been playing at festivals these days. And how the hell is corporate music still a thing, are venues still only attainable to those who pay bribes or know the local politicians? I wasn't surprised when the dots were connected on a few of the event coordination companies in the US when they got busted.

I don't think it's possible for me try to read everything anymore, and would need to rely on like just going through top 5 or top 10 crowd curated comments..

Lol, just hating on the game. SHM iz good ppl

I had this problem too Kevin when my account and the platform got popular back in January, now things have settled down. With you being such a big player here, I can only imagine this issue never ends. So I won't write too much to save you time.

But I don't think there is anything you can really do if you want to stay genuine. What I mean is I'd recommend hiring an assistant to reply for you, but that would be the least genuine thing you could do so that's a no.

I suggest, you just comment on things that are worthy to comment on. Keep it short and sweet. Do one run through about 24 hours after a post and people will have to understand.....there is only one Keven Wong! not 5 working round the clock on the steemit. So Best of luck with your time management. It can be challenge here.

In the mean time you feel free to up-vote my awesome travel content anytime you want with all the Steem Power you carry! lol Wishing you the best from Santiago Chile! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Yeah no way i'm gonna hire someone to respond in my stead, doesn't make sense to me anyway lol.

Appreciate that you dropped by. I think i'll just put less pressure on myself with the response and all!

Thanks Kevin! You certainly wouldn't be Steemit's Kevin Wong if someone else was responding for you ;)

Newbies are commenting under the posts of people like you in hope of some rewards that would be impossible to get otherwise. But a lot of spammers are also doing their rounds by repeating 'Nice' and 'Great' comments. The main reason I could find is that they are all struggling with understanding the way of working of steemit. Commenting itself is an art because it requires the comprehension of what the author intended to say and the creation of a good writing. Let the good comments flourish!

But that behaviour isn't exactly normal under most social circumstances. How is it valuable to have comments just like "nice" and "great"?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29