Fridays Rock: some old rocks with unknown names, plus additional photos.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #fridaysrock by @nat-expressions curated by @shasta. I picked up these two rocks several years ago at a sale in an art gallery in Bangkok.

BB2AB4EE-9315-4841-B4DD-85AEBABE72BF.jpeg

The vendor could not tell me the names of these rocks. He just told me that a very well known businessman bought all the rocks shown in the glass cabinets over the years while traveling the world on business. I remembered there were over a thousand specimens in over thirty glass cabinets. They were sold at dirt cheap prices, so his collections were quickly bought up by small collectors. I was a big late at the game, so all the beautiful pieces were gone in a few days.

4E9BBD4D-0B86-4782-B782-DDFE658505BA.jpeg

เรามีหินที่สะสมมานานหลายปี แต่ไม่รู้ว่ามันชื่ออะไร เราได้มาจากการไปเดินเล่นที่การจัดแสดงภาพเขียนแถวถนนสีลม คนขายก็บอกชื่อให้เราไม่ได้ เพียงแต่บอกว่าหินที่นำมาขายในราคาถูกเป็นพิเศษนี้เป็นหินสะสมของนักธุรกิจชื่อดังคนหนึ่ง เขาสะสมมาตั้งแต่เป็นหนุ่มเดินทางไปติดต่อธุรกิจทั่วโลก ตอนนั้นเขานำหินทั้งหมดมากกว่าพันชิ้นออกมาใส่ตู้กระจกกว่าสามสิบใบ และขายแบบถูกสุดๆ น่าเสียดายที่เรารู้ช้าไป หินก้อนสวยๆโดนจับจอง และซื้อหมดไปในไม่กี่วัน หินที่เราได้มานั้น เรารู้ว่ามันเก่าหลายล้านปีแล้ว แต่เราไม่แน่ใจว่าเราค้นจากหนังสือมาถูกต้องหรือเปล่า

075A2565-31C2-4B04-881C-F29D91FE7155.jpeg

ส่วนก้อนที่สองเราดูแล้ว จินตนาการว่าน่าจะเป็นมูลของลูกไดโนเสาร์ หรือไม่ก็ เป็นอึนกอีมู ถ้าเป็นจริงเราคงรวยแน่ๆเลย จะเอาไปขายให้พิพิธภัณฑ์หินทันที เผื่อจะได้ซื้อรถกันกระสุนสักหนึ่งคัน เพื่อเทียบชั้นกับผู้นำประเทศ!!

CF8C6B16-7602-472D-B9D1-13CE4F915F67.jpeg

B6ABAB8C-E0C4-4FEC-840D-FF6834EDE46B.jpeg

Wishing you a very nice weekend.

Cheers.

This is an additional information to this post. I went to a bookshop to search for information on these two stones. I managed to take some photos from the Book of Stones hoping to compare these photos with my stones. Still, I could not be certain and don’t know the names of the rocks.

8ces656fgl.jpg
qx80se3mhk.jpg
These are photos from the Book of Stones.
lwrv2mlv48.jpg

drc6yaz9zd.jpg
ohv7xyqfah.jpg

These photos give me some hope, but they are not exactly identical. So, there is no valid conclusion.

CF8C6B16-7602-472D-B9D1-13CE4F915F67.jpeg

B6ABAB8C-E0C4-4FEC-840D-FF6834EDE46B.jpeg

Wishing you a very nice weekend.

Cheers.

Sort:  

Looks like some kinda of interesting conglomerate rock. Got globule bits too a bit like hematite

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Hematite! That’s good, I like hematite a lot!

Wow those are some cool looking stones @kaminchan!
Thank you for sharing these beautiful rocks! They look like
some kind of conglomerate. I wonder if @rt395 or @snowyknight
knows what they might be!? :-)

Thank you very much! It would be nice to know the names of these rocks.

If you put a couple of the photos of your cool rock on the nature
identification contest! Run by my good friend @snowyknight! :-)
Maybe someone knows what it is, I'd like to know too!
I put your link there a few days ago! :-)
https://steempeak.com/steembasicincome/@snowyknight/nature-identification-contest-nic-win-steem-basic-income-and-have-fun-with-nature-v-7

Thank you very much!
I will have to look up the other one.

Very interesting looking rocks!

Thank you very much! They are very old but I don’t know their names.

WOW! Amazing rocks! I have never seen the rocks like these before! Oh! It's unfortunate that all other beautiful pieces were gone.... I would love to see them, too..... That businessman was very lucky! ;)

Yeah! If I had the money and space, I would love to get all his collections! He was one of the owners of the building! I wonder why he gave up all his collections of rocks!

Cheers.

@shasta brought me here. Awesome photos and now following.

Top one looks like a volcanic breccia. Pretty cool. Bottom looks like a iron or maganese nodules.

Feel free to stop by the Nature Identification Contest sometime on my blog @snowyknight if you have other natural world things you would like help with.

Cheers!

ps. I was too late to upvote this post, so I upvoted your comments.

Thank you very much. That’s very kind of you. I am so glad to know more about these rocks! I had a feeling they were special even though they didn’t look beautiful or luxurious like sparkling crystals.

Thanks for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36