You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemians: Quick, Jump Off A Tall Building Because The Sky Is Falling!!!

in #busy6 years ago

To replay the entire blockchain takes hours and that is what the witnesses had to do once the patch was deployed.

Took me six to be exact lol

Rule #1: there will always be bugs
Rule #2: you never know where the bugs will be.

Do you program? Cause you nailed that on the head!

And yet you want to complain about your voting power being zapped for 5 days while the new update seeks out equilibrium?

That is all I'm hearing about. It's getting old everyone needs to read up on RCs or just keep their mouth shut for a week. If I was a betting man I'd bet all my STEEM that no one even thinks about RCs or their "Mana" in a week. Especially if they are using our platform legitimately.

Of course, we all know this is the fault of the Steemit development team. They are all a bunch of know-nothing morons. I found this idea, which was on discord, absolutely laughable.

I have seen it all over steem chat as well. When there are tens of thousands of lines of code changed in a system no group of mankind will be able to iron out all the issues before going live. It's in the live where these obscure bugs arise, not in testing.

I challenge everyone talking smack on the STEEM dev team to read this and tell me the understand it on the first read. Again, if I was a betting man I'd bet all my STEEM that they wouldn't.

most of the witnesses did not put forth as much effort as they could have

As a witness that can't even afford the server I run it is hard to run on testnet and forgo even the small SP given on the live chain. That being said maybe I should have and looking back it could have helped. Please take this as my formal apology for my lack of contribution to the test network.

Sort:  

Well said. Although I am not a programmer, I learned programming in my first year of university (engineering) and I totally agree with what you said. Even for simple programs that we made back then, it was almost impossible to know what the bugs would be before running the code. That's just how programming works. You can try your best to catch them before going live, but inevitably there will be more that appear that you only realize after the fact.

Thank you for the extended comment @jrswab

Do you program? Cause you nailed that on the head!

No far from it. I am more of a sales and marketing guy. But I have talked to enough developers to know this is what happens.

The only true way to find bugs is to run the software live. Nobody likes to hear that but it is a programmer's reality.

I agree 100% the best we programmers/devs/hackers can do is to get it as close to ready as possible and let it out into the wild.


I am more of a sales and marketing guy.

We need your help in Nebulus 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50