Coingecko Contest: What’s Your Favorite Song, and Why?

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

I just found about this contest by @coingecko by answering the question What is your favorite song, and why? @diosarich tagged me about this contest, and I was keen to join as I love music.

I listen to different kinds of music, and I have lots of favorite songs. To be honest, it is difficult to choose among those song, but I had chosen this song. I am not really a fan of her, and her music. I am a 1990s kid, and I haven't heard about her until I saw her name among those credited artists on a Janet Jackson song. The song is Big Yellow Taxi by Joni Mitchell. It was just recently when I began to love the song upon reading its lyrics and meaning. There is a story behind the song, and I listened to it. There's a 2000s version of the song but the original is classic!

Why I love the song?

  • As I stated above, I love the lyrics. It signifies how the artist was disappointed seeing how the environment was destroyed for commercial purposes.

  • I initially thought her voice sounds old before listening to her version, but she sounds modern, and there's something about her voice that can give you goosebumps.

The song is relevant to our times today. Many forest areas are taken down, tress cut down (or even burned down) in purpose to erect establishments or build parking lots. As businessmen pursue bringing their business to the new level, it compromises our environment. It's like taking away the paradise we have only to make it concrete.

Other versions

There are many versions of this song as preceding artists revived it with their respective versions.

The Neighborhood

This version sounds folksy. It was released in 1970s as well.

Moya Brennan

An Irish traditional version from Enya's sister.

Amy Grant

Amy Grant covered the song in mid-1990s in a soft rock tune.

Counting Crows and Vanessa Carlton

This is the latest version it was heard. It has a pop rock with midtempo tune.

Janet Jackson had sampled the song in 1997 on her song Got til It's Gone which gave a feature credit for Joni Mitchell.


Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

You can also give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please support his project as well, which is @teardrops Smart Media Token.


Do support @steemph, @bayanihan, and @sawasdeethailand curation teams. Huge thanks to sir @bobbylee, and @hr1.

image
image
image
IYANPOL12 (1).gif
iyan-1.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84