Patriotism Or Blind Optimism

in #busy6 years ago


IMG_20181014_085945_187.jpg

I recently wrote a short story themed around elections. There I talked about the blind masses who are inonly interested in what entered their pockets rather than ask important questions and make the right electoral decisions.

Take the recently concluded election in Osun State as an example. The just concluded election was simply an avenue to display wealth, political power and selfish ambition. There were widespread reports of paid voters. My friends told me voters at some polling units got as much as #3.000. My mum told me some of the payments were done via bank transfers.

I wish I was in the state during the election. I would have collected the money and still vote for the candidate of my choice. Anyway, this isn't about me. It's about our disposition to the country.

Patriotism

I listen a lot to sound speakers and pastors. The general consensus among them is for all Nigerians to work and pray towards a better Nigeria. They believe things can get better.

There are certain things that inspire hope. People are becoming aware of the power they wield at the polling unit. There are initiatives that seek to improve grassroot participation in government.

The only downside to this is that most people downplay the role of poverty in our society. I mean, how do you expect a man who earns #10,000 (based on the minimum wage) to reject #3,000. Even worse most government workers in most states are being owed salaries.

I'm tempted to believe that until the average man can have enough to feed himself and his family, election manipulations will continue. It's my conjecture that the ruling class recognise this fact. That's why hey are willing to do nothing to help the common man

Blind Optimism

For the foregoing, I know you'll forgive me if I say I'm giving up on Nigeria. There's widespread expression of optimism but I think it's blind optimism.

Until the average man can stand on his own, this country cannot move forward. I'm not saying everyone has to become rich. I'm taking about being able to get the basic necessities of life. I've stayed in three states (Lagos, Ogun and Osun states) and I've seen levels of poverty I didn't think existed.

It is this poverty that breeds the rally crowds, the paid electorates and the hoodlums that terrorise polling units and steal ballot boxes.

What's my solution?

I think education can help but you can't teach an hungry man. You must meet his needs first.

For me, I'm migrating at the first opportunity. Forget the picture at the beginning of this post. It's for an entry for @eturnerx's contest.

But before I migrate, I'm curious, what do you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46