You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Decentralizing the Internet - Helium

in #busy5 years ago

Hey, @sunlit7.

Yeah, that will be interesting to see. I did do some more reading about that. The access to the internet is actually purchased through a wholesaler, so the folks before the giant IPs we deal with. I'm not sure what that costs, but my guess is, it's not what I'm paying a month. So, the more people they can sign up and help to offset the costs through their tokens, the better, I imagine.

re: infrastructure

Kind of like STEEM, where the witnesses set up their own servers? I haven't been able to find how much the antennas and cabling costs, but the routers are normal off the shelf types that get a firmware update.

At any rate, I like the idea of peer to peer, or a decentralized internet. Whether this is the solution, I don't know, but with each iteration, something's bound to work, which I think is more or less what whatsup's said. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68164.82
ETH 2641.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70