Why you should keep on blogging although the value of steem is low(er). Reward pool explained!

in #busy6 years ago

You should already know by now that I am a big advocate of interaction and engagement here on the blockchain!
I also keep on telling that if you are here the long term and don't depend on the steem income that the value of steem is irrelevant at the moment!
In this post I will try to explain why that is! At least I will give it a shot and this is my understanding how things work under the hood of Steem. If you do see any incorrect assumption or still have question, don't hesitate and drop a comment!

The reward pool

pool.jpg

Source

You probably all know that there is a daily reward pool, which is used to pay the posts!
But how is this reward pool created?
Well simple, each 3 second a new block is generated and within each block there is a pre-defined number of Steem available. The biggest chunk of steem is for the reward pool. A small, really small chunk is rewarded to the witnesses!
So each 3 second the reward pool is filled up! At the moment we are at block #23,312,796.
What is also important to know is that each 250K blocks the inflation is decreased.
If you want to read more about inflation, there is a great article available by @fatboyjames
https://steemit.com/steemit/@fatboyjames/how-much-new-steem-is-created-everyday
The reward pool is constantly moving. So each 3 section it is re-filled but every upvote drains the reward pool!

Distributing the reward pool

We know now how the reward pool is filled, so how is it distributed!
Well 75% of the reward pool is used for the content creators and 25% is used for the content curators.
It is that simple!

Under the hood: VESTS

Now you are interested to see, how the vote value is calculated. Because this is what you do extract from the reward pool when you do upvote this post :). And like written above 75% of the vote will be for me and 25% of the votes will be for the curators (depending on which time you do upvote)!
You don't need to look at the vote value in USD or SBD yet because under the hood everything is calculated in VESTS!

Well the best way I can explain this, is that all steem power combined is gathered in a fund and the number of vests does express how many shares you have in this fund!

Vote calculation

The first thing you have to do it to calculate the number of vests you have at your possession.
With possession I do mean that you also have to incorporate a delegation you have received.
Lucky for us there are some great tool available where you can see, this easily!
Maybe the best tool to use for this is http://steemd.com/ created by @roadscape
If you do want to know how many vests you have just goto http://steemd.com/@username
where you do have to replace the username with your Steemit name.
So for me this would become:
http://steemd.com/@fullcoverbetting
We are interested in the following part at the left side of the screen!
vests.PNG

As you can see my total amount of vest are:
733.647,832331 (own) + 407.642,471851 (received delegation) = 1.141290,304182
This last number is the total vests I do have available! If you do have an outgoing delegation, you will need to distract this from this!

For some reason, I don't understand we need to multiply this by 1 million!
So 1.141290,304182 * 1.000.000 = 1.141.290.304.182
Sounds a lot, doesn't it?

voting power

We are not there yet! The need to incorporate the voting power we are going to use in the calculation.
Once you reach 500SP you will have a slider available with which you can choose the desired voting power. If you are using busy.org, you can use the slider also below 500 SP.
One 100% vote does decrease the voting power you have with around 2%.
So in my case a 100% upvote would represent:
1.141.290.304.182 *0,02 = 22.825.806.083,64
So if I do upvote your post with 100%, I am pulling 22.825.806.083,64 vest from the reward pool!

Reward pool and upvotes

Almost there.
If we take a look at another Steem blockexplorer http://steemdb.com created by @jesta
We can see how much is in the reward pool.
At the moment of writing this post, the reward pool was:
reward pool.PNG

Here we are interested in the recent claims which are 467.563.228.304.150.000,00
We need to divide our upvote by this. So
22.825.806.083,64 / 467.563.228.304.150.000,00 = 0,0000000488186510
Really peanuts, isn't. But luckily we also need to see how many steem is available in the reward pool, which is 739.653,007. So almost 740K.
Now we need to multiply our part from the share from the recent claims with the available steem in the reward pool.
0,0000000488186510 * 739.653,007 = 0,036109 STEEM

This 0.036109 is actually my 100% upvote!

As you can see, the value of steem doesn't matter when you are here for the long term. It is steem where we should be interested in!
It is this Steem where we should be interested in! Not the SBD value of Steem value.

Converting to SBD

Because this figure above doesn't mean anything to most of us, it is written down in SBD, which is much more understandable!
Therefor we do need know the current feed price, which could be lookup on the steemd blockchain explorer or the steemdb blockchain explorer!
steem price steemd.PNG

So, the last thing to do is to multiply our steem upvote with the current SBD feed:
0,036109 * 1.742 = 0.0629
Which is quit accurate in my case.

To verify I did 100% upvote a post 2 hours ago with around 83% voting power left.
So this would that this upvote should be worth:
0.0629 (vote value) * 100% (100% upvote) * 83% =$0.05
upvote.PNG

Final words

I do want to thank @paulag for answering the last question I did have!
So, if you are here for the long term. The value of the post is meaningless as long as the upvotes and the upvoting power is the same. You would earn the same when the value of steem is low or high.
When the steem price is high, the value of the upvotes are high, hence you have to pay more to get your Steem!
When the steem price is low, the value of the upvotes is low, hence you have to pay less to get your steem!

I do hope that you like this article and that not any mistakes are in here!
If you did like it, feel free to re-steem it or to upvote it with full force :) Bur for sure do leave a comment when you did read it and let me know what you think! Because interaction really matters!

If you still have a witness spot available, please consider @steemcommunity, because they really do find engagement and interaction utmost important here on the blockchain!
Their latest article can prove this:
https://busy.org/@paulag/developing-a-steem-contribution-score-table

Keep the faith,
Peter


Sports Bettors On Steemit Unite and Join the SBC !


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

That was an awesome explaination of the reward pool and how it was computed.

Normally when I see numbers my mind shuts off but I am glad to have put the effort to keep reading.

I try my best to continue posting regardless if Steem is high or low. I am here for the long run.

We both are Mave.
Hope that it become real big and if not I did enjoy myself and it did gave me some friends!
Cheers,
Peter

Good explanation, it is very detailed.
I like this, I will continue in Steemit, I have not achieved as many, but little by little I will reach something much bigger.
Like this steem, I will continue and more now that I already have vacations, and I can invest much more time, to create a better quality post. As I go, it is enough for me even to maintain, without the need to work. Well, in Venezuela, because of the situation, it is more profitable to earn at least $ 3 than to work for 1 minimum monthly salary that equals $ 1.

One question, is it a good idea to invest SBD or Steem in Steem Power in a 90 day delegation?

I am not delegating myself so no clue about it. It also depends to whom or what you are going to delegate!
Maybe @preparedwombat can give you some mire insight in it!

Hi--I'm following you. I remember your post about the cable car in Merida. I upvoted that post at the time. It was beautifully photographed and offered some interesting information about the tourist site. I found your coverage to be thorough and it told me about a place I will never get to visit. I look forward to reading more posts like that from you.

Great insight, it is not easy to understand all th e calculations​s in steemit, ty.

@aclarkuk82
I did try to put it down an easy as possible but also got lost a few times. Hope this helps a little bit.
If you still do have an questions. Just ask, maybe I do know the answer!
Cheers,
Peter

@fullcoverbetting you narrowed the information down so that everybody will understand .working for so is more important in this blockchain ,and that will will help you to take charge over events here and is very very beneficial .

Am planing on how to by sp at least (500) now that is down because I know it will raise tomorrow.

Thanks for the info it helped .

@egbujorvictor
Thanks! If you still do have any question, feel free to ask. Maybe I know the answers, or maybe somebody else of the commentors!
Bying steem could be a good decision, for sure if you do have plans to stay here.
Good luck with the decision.
Cheers,
Peter

You lost me in numbers, but not in faith. I am on the long run in both my crypto investments and Steemit, or at least that's what I think.
So, Steem on and have a great day!

Sorry about that. I did try to keep it as simple as possible, I guess I got carried away a little bit 😁
We both are in both for the long term 👊
Cheers,
Peter

Great walk through of how rewards are calculated.

You lost me half way in the numbers. However, I agree with you, my goal is long term. Hence the reason I keep writing. Though lately I have not been doing so.

Sorry @mutitum I did my best to write it down as under stable as possible.
If you have any more question, let me know, maybe I do know the answer!

Cheers,
Peter

True, when in it for the long run the price of steem does not really matter that much. The amount of steem you earn can probably be even higher when the price is low. Contest prizes used to be a lot higher also back when the price was below 1$. With the price being down it's a great time to gain a lot more steem.

Indeed it is. And the lower the price of steem is, the lower the gap with steem backed dollars is.
Meaning that we can buy more steem with our well earned Steem backed dollars!
Cheers,
Peter

Really nice breakdown, helped me get a handle on some aspects I didn't really get before. It's also reflective of my own opinions on consistently working, bear or bull.

@effofex
Interaction and engagement is the only real thing which will help your account forward.
It does not matter how high or low the steem price is. This only matters when you do want to cash out.
Cheers,
Peter

Lots of numbers but I got your point. STEEM and SBD price is also just a number and if we have long term view and use all earned STEEM and SBD to build up our SP, we will have benefit. I have plan to raise my SP next two years regardless of the STEEM price...

I know but it would be near to impossible to explain it without any figures!
It is always a goodidea to rake in as much steem as you could.
It is a life blockchain, it works! And yes it has some flaws but they do all!
It is also the blockchain we know best and regardless of the succes os SMTs the value will rise!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82