You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Hiveminds (Communities) Kill Paid Bots????

in #busy6 years ago

I do have mixed feeling with the bid/flat rate bots! In the beginning I was completely against them. I did try them and still are experimenting them.
One could see it is a paid advertising, other do see them as a real plague! I did change my mind from completely against them to neutral (with the advertising part in mind).
My opinion now, is that there is nothing wrong with using them to give your post some more exposure, but it is a complete different story if people only use them to get on the top of the Hot or trending pages. I will fully support if the hot pages would be based on the interaction count on posts. Not only from the commenters but also the replies from the author of the post!
I did devote a post about interaction on Steem and why it is crucial! And yes to be honest I did use resteem services to get it noticed. Not get rich from it, but because I do find it utmost important that people do read it! Sorry, to let you down on this part!
But what I did not like in the proposal was the possibility to downvote posts! This will just start a new flagging war! And this is something we really could miss on the Steem blockchain!

Sort:  

I don’t mind it when people use upvote services to get to the trending page. In order to buy your way to the top, you need to have some SBD staked in the company already.

The trending page is like Hollywood, that’s where all the people that want to look flashy hang out. And yeah, sometimes they make bigger incomes, but sometimes they are just going into debt to look good (paying more for upvotes than what you get in return).

At the end of the day, the only way to counter spam is to take the time to read your fellow writers’ work, and have genuine conversations.

Being on discord helps too.

Never though about comparing it to Hollywood, but it really suits the Trending page!
Interaction is all that matters, for the moment bots will not be able to replace this!
I don't do Discord, what am I missing? Already spend to much time on Steemit to read, write and comment.

If Steemit was Facebook than discord would be like messenger/Facebook groups.

But discord isn’t connected to steem, it’s just a system we use.

Ok, thx for the explanation!

We do have steemit.chat our version of discord but people have stopped using it :(

Can't even create an account there. But hey I did create a profile at discord. Will take some time to figure out how these things work :)

IIUC you need to use steem.chat instead of steemit.chat now.

it autodirect to the site anywho

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14