Sort:  

Yes! That was a good season. Maybe my friends have got older too. I remember we use to gather around to watch match of the day or arrange time to watch a big ticket game together.

Part of it has to do with the matches in the UK League now being scattered throughout the week. It brings in more global revenue but is damaging to the game for the domestic audience

I also do believe that some things are also related with the phases in our lives. I used to watch sports all over the weekend and a was interested in a broad spectrum of sports.
But that was in the time was I was the lonely ruler of the remote. Than after living together, I had to gave up some sports because I wasn't the single ruler anymore, I did have to compromise now and then.
And now I do have 2 kids and I am glad if I can watch some TV during the weekend, let alone to follow a completion intensely.

Got some stats! Not a massive decline in viewing figures in the UK, but it has been slowly edging down

Screenshot_20181018-193315__01.jpg
Link: https://www.statista.com/statistics/869181/english-premier-league-television-viewership-uk/

Would be interesting to see this broken down by demographics

Indeed that would be interesting. I did try to look up the same for the Belgian competition but failed to do so.
More than probably also there will be a decline.
Which is maybe good. Other sports are getting more practitioner and viewers.
When I was a kid, it was normal than more than 90% of the kids did choice football as sport. Now there is broader spectrum of sports they can choose from.
Still both my kids did (voluntarily) choice football :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70