A bad day at the golf course is always better than a good day at the office!

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

As you all know or don't know I am a member of the local Golf Club! I would like to write that I am golfer but I don't play enough to be able to write this! This year I only played 3 full rounds, which is around 10 to 15 too low for the time of the year! I would like to play more but we do have small kids which besides work are our number 1 priority!

But today there was a men days tournament. The men club does host a tournament on each last Thursday of the month! This time one of the prices was a 7 day trip to Curacao! So, yes I was willing to offer some spare time to participate!

The weather

image.png
As you can see in the picture around 1 o'clock, it was 35 degrees already. Not exactly enjoyable weather to play golf! I normally hate it to play with a cap, but this weather does force me to do it!
So I did had to buy one! This is the result, not something to be proud of :)
IMG_2527.jpg
I don't believe that I ever did drink more water when playing golf, than I did today. We had temperature up to 37 degrees, and believe and the greens it comes from both sides!

The course: Spiegelven

I did play at my home course, Spiegelven, and played from the yellow tee, which makes the course 5.81 kilometers! I did took photo's from almost every tee box, and I was planning to write a detailed resume of my play today but I will not do this.
I will just show some pics. At the first 9 holes, the course is a forest course, which means that all holes are surrounded by forest. At the second 9 the holes widen up and is transformed into a park course! But the back 9 or more up-and-down, which really wears you out!
The first set are some picks from the first 9, the second set in from the back 9!
image.png


image.png

The score

Well like written before, I was my third round of the year. And I am not the type of person to go to the driving range :)
The game we played was American Strokeplay. This means that you normally have to finish the hole, but when you have played the double par (so 8 times for a par 4) you write down 9.
Our course is a par 72 and I did play a shameful 119! Due to my handicap I may withdraw 30 strokes from it, giving me a net score of 89!
But what else can you expect if you don't play enough! I did had a great flight with 2 guys old enough to be my father! But they were young at hart! So, really enjoyed myself, lots of laughter and banter!

At the end of the day we had a BBQ and the prize ceremony!
Too my surprise I was not the last but second-last and this was good enough for a diner coupon of 250 euro at a specific restaurant!

I really should play more golf! Although it was a bad day at the golf course, I had a blast and that is what it is about!

Cheers,
Peter


Sports Bettors On Steemit Unite and Join the SBC !


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

@fullcoverbetting,

I golf approximately once every ten years. It takes me that long to forget how humiliated I was the last time I played.

Let me recount what happened last time. I was out with a couple friends. I was averaging about 15-20 strokes per hole. No matter how bad you are, though, once in a while you'll stumble ass-backwards into greatness.

There I was on some middle-of-the-game hole and wham. I drove the ball straight down the fairway like I was Hercules. To my surprise, there were about 5-6 guys watching me, who, having witnessed my prowess, broke into applause.

Me being me, I gave a slight nod of my head and a whisper of a wave in acknowledgement of their admiration. You know, like a mounted prince gracing the peasants with a passing glance.

Several holes later, to my horror, the same group had stopped playing and were awaiting, on a nearby hilltop, to see my next drive. To learn from the Master. I tried everything I could to stall ... to try to make them lose interest and go away. They exhibited zen-like patience.

So, finally, I lined up behind the ball and let rip. The ball never got more than 5 feet off the ground (and I'm being generous) and veered off at what I estimate to be a 45 degree angle from the direction I had intended.

I glanced up at the onlookers, my groupies. Their mouths were agape. They'd been conned ... and I was the Bernie Madoff of golf hopefuls. I had sold ice to Eskimos. They turned away, their hopes shattered by my deception, with naked looks of repugnance.

It's been almost 10 years now, so, I guess it's time to get back on the greens.

Quill.

Great story!
What happens to me a lot is that after a great drive, the following shots are awfully 😔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63270.29
ETH 3464.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51