Freewrite Day 404 Medicine

in #busy6 years ago

Freewrite Medicine fitinfun.jpg

Medicine has saved my life and almost killed me. I have been under a doctor’s care for much of my life and had all kinds of procedures, drugs, tests, and therapies over the years. I am thankful for all of it; good and bad, as it got me to the point I am at now – still alive at almost 60 when I was supposed to not make it through my 20’s.

After I lost “half my size” I had an epiphany about medicine and found out or decided that the food that I eat can be medicine too. Somehow the human race made it to the point where we are now with high technology and chemistry saving us all the time.

So about eight years ago I started to eat as if my life depended on getting nutrition out of my food and drinks. What a change my life has seen since then!

  • I no longer take handfuls of pills three times a day.
  • I do not have to have all my “levels” constantly checked to make sure the drugs aren’t about to kill me.
  • I do not feel stuffed yet starving when I eat.
  • I finish a meal and I am raring to go.

Before this time, I did not believe “you are what you eat.” Now that is my rallying cry.

We need to take care of ourselves the best we can and let professional medicine take over if needed. In the past I let the doctors do what they could as if I was a passive observer. This new life is so much more fulfilling and I am very lucky and blessed I got the chance to find this out.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

Sort:  

Good for you! We all need to be more conscious of what we put into our bodies. It's amazing how eating right has such a positive effect not only our physical but also mental well being.

So true! I had no idea this would make such a positive difference, but I am so glad I found out.

It really is amazing how much of a difference food can make. so many people could feel so much better and happier if they had the right diet.

Back in the day, if someone told my I was ingesting poison, I would tell them "A little bit does not matter." Ha! How wrong I was...

Yup. And you probably would have thought that the person telling you that was crazy!!

I did and told them so. When I was at my largest, I just wanted everyone to leave me alone!

I absolutely agree with you. Suffering migraines has been a trial for me I've tried very many different ways and holistic methods to reduce the migraines. I can't stay that the vitamins or the food really change anything because I think mine have more to do with my car accident, but the food that we eat at definitely effects our lives and how healthy we are and feel. Garbage in, garbage out is my philosophy and I always tried to make my choices healthy choices. I had the opposite problem when I was younger, I could not maintain a healthy weight. I had stress-related anorexia. I didn't realize it for many many years but not eating was tied in with my abusive marriage. It took a long time [and a divorce after 20 years] for me to figure it out and there has some long-term damage done because of my poor eating such as osteoporosis. I can't undo the past, but I can certainly make wiser choices going forward.

I'm glad to hear you are making the healthy choices too. No matter what - this helps. In my case, my chronic disease is Rheumatoid Arthritis. I am in a lot of support groups and I tell people that better eating does not cure me, but it makes life so much easier.

Since I lost weight 8 years ago, I have twice been too thin. I was so weak and tired all the time! Luckily my reasons were not emotional, and when I got more and better food, I recovered to my new "set point" weight fairly easily. I cannot imagine how hard it is to live with anorexia.

I am also in a Migraine support group though I am lucky enough not to get them. The people on all the drugs seem to do worse than those trying the natural path. I recently read a post in that group where a lady aid she seemed to be "aging out" of them and they were not as severe. Some people chimed in to agree and others just wished for such a miracle. Praying for you to be in the first group.

Thank you. Currently, I am recovering from hip surgery. I have noticed being off work that I have not had any migraines. I had a little bit of a headache which I treated with Excedrin over the counter the other day and it went away. I'm starting to look at other reasons of what my migraines are caused by... ie constant computer time, fluorescent lights, stress, daily changing lunch times due to a call center schedule. To be determined... Good luck to you and good health!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hip surgery for the win lol. Good grief.

You sure have some culprits in your life. I have heard of ways to change your monitor to different colors to reduce eye strain. That might help if work will let you do it. Other than that, just keep chipping away and I wish you the best of health too. {{{Hugs}}}

You're so right @fitinfun, great #freewrite.

It's our "broke" resident mailman Bruni, delivering today's prompt ✉️
Webp.net-compress-image (2).jpg
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-405-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-broke

Awesome. You are what you eat and that is why some people call me Oatmeal since I was a small boy. Thanks for your post here. I eat from my garden. You are amazing.

Thank you very much! You have a great nickname. And lucky you to be eating fresh food. I have a balcony now and might try to grow some too :)

A balcony garden? Sounds awesome.

It could be - if I get my green thumb to work lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39